DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

PBC and Ardscoil Ris Advance in Schools Junior Cup

1st March 2007 By Munster Rugby

The last two semi final spots in this year’s Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup have been decided, with Ardscoil Ris edging our St. Munchin’s College and Presentation Brothers College displaying their intentions with a 22-5 win over Rockwell College.

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup Quarter Finals
Third Round Qualifiers

Ardscoil Ris 10-6 St. Munchin’s College
Presentation Brothers College 22-5 Rockwell College

Ardscoil Ris have booked a date with Castletroy College in one semi final while Presentation Brothers College will face Crescent College Comprehensive.

In a local Limerick derby, Ardscoil Ris got the better of St. Munchin’s College, after taking the lead, despite playing against the wind, with an early unconverted try from hooker George O’ Shea. St. Munchin’s College responded with two first half penalties from outhalf Eamonn Carr. Ardscoil Ris’ second try from Tom Goggin, captain, late in the first half gave them a 10-6 lead at the break. The second half was as close as it gets, with Ardscoil forced to defend for much of the half and neither side advancing on the half time scoreline. For Ardscoil Ris, the forwards were much improved, with Padraig Monaghan, Tom Goggin and Shane Conway impressing with great ball carrying skills. Scrum half Jamie Gavin and winger Billy Storan on the left wing also stood out. Best for St. Munchin’s College included captain and flanker Keith McManus, and two of the Ryan triplets, Evan at prop and Gavin in the second row. Centre Darragh Crawford always looked a threat to the Ardscoil Ris defence.

At Musgrave Park, Presentation Brothers College bagged their semi final spot with a comprehensive win over Rockwell College. The influential PBC full back Pat Deasy put their first points on the board after six minutes with a well taken penalty kick. Rockwell College replied six minutes later with a try from prop David Magee. Deasy crossed the line for PBC after 23 minutes, and although he missed the conversion, PBC led 8-5. With an injury to Rockwell’s second row Shane Buckley delaying proceedings, the score remained 8-5 at the break. Three minutes after the restart, PBC’s No. 8 Brian Carroll notched up five points for PBC, which Deasy converted to give PBC a 15-5 lead. Deasy wasn’t quite finished with his scoring for the day- claiming his second try which he converted himself to bring his personal tally up to 17 points. PBC’s impressive pack caused plenty of problems for Rockwell College, with No. 8 Brian Carroll standing out, as well as the prolific Deasy. For Rockwell College captain Jack Lonergan led from the front.

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup Semi Finals
Tuesday 13th March 2007
Castletroy College v Ardscoil Ris, 3pm. Limerick Venue tba.

Wednesday 14th March 2007
Crescent College Comprehensive v Presentation Brothers College, 3pm, Limerick venue, tba

Ardscoil Ris
15. Jamie McGarry, 14. Craig Airey, 13. Mark Leonard, 12. Rob Heneghan, 11. Billy Storan, 10. Eoin Commane, 9. Jamie Gavin, 1. Ronan McMahon, 2. George O’ Shea, 3. Niall Buckley, 4. Padraig Monaghan, 5. Kevin Walsh, 6. Shane Conway, 7. Ian Hickey, 8. Tom Goggin (Captain)
Replacements: Simon Keane for McMahon (45), Marcus Fitzgibbon for O’ Shea (59)

St. Munchin’s College
15. Ben Brew, 14. Shane Madden, 13. Darragh Crawford, 12. Ger Quinlivan, 11. Mark Conway, 10. Eamonn Carr, 9. Brian Mullins, 1. Evan Ryan, 2. Adam Connolly, 3. James McGovern, 4. Rory O’Donnell, 5. Gavin Ryan, 6. Evan Hogan, 7. Keith McManus, 8. Cian Tsang
Replacements: Cathal O’Shea for Ger Quinlivan (20), Ian Wallace for James McGovern (50)

Presentation Brothers College
15. Pat Deasy, 14. Will Murphy, 13. Cian Bohane, 12. Graham Murray, 11. Sean Og Murphy, 10. Jack Costigan, 9. Matt Kelleher, 1. Niall Scannell, 2. Brian Vaughan, 3. Ian Mullarkey, 4. Rob O’ Herlihy, 5. Cathal O’Flaherty, 6. Dave O’ Mahony, 7. Jack Duffy, 8. Brian Carroll
Replacements: Killian Kingston for O’Flaherty (30), Brian Coughlan for Vaughan (52), Kieran Ryan for Carroll (57), Steven Lynch for Mullarkey (58), Eoin O’Shaughnessy for Kelleher (58)

Rockwell College
15. Sean O’ Connor, 14. John Finnegan, 13. Eoin Farrell, 12. Daniel Hogan, 11. Jack O’Connell, 10. Darragh McEniry, 9. Gavin Heuston, 1. David Magee, 2. Matthew Teehan, 3. Cian O’Donnell, 4. Liam O’ Doherty, 5. Shane Buckley, 6. Mark Cummins, 7. Joseph Meagher, 8. Jack Lonergan
Replacements: Stephen Maguire for Buckley (27), Andrew Foley for Teehan (HT), Ivan Mullins for Mark Cummins (43), Tim Rafferty for Heuston (48), Philip Irwin for O’Doherty (55), Barry McEvoy for McEniry (55), Michael Mullins for O’Connell (55)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The teams have been named for this Friday’s clash between a Munster Development side and the Spain U20s at UL (2.30pm). The game will be...