DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Juniors

The Munster Junior side includes players selected from the different Munster junior clubs in Munster. They compete in the Junior Interprovincial Championships at the end of each season.

Results for the 2014-15 Season

April 25: Munster 22-17 Leinster, Cobh Pirates RFC
May 2: Ulster 35-0 Munster, Carrickfergus RFC
May 9: Connacht 33-40 Munster, Creggs RFC

2012-13 Munster Junior Management Team

Head Coach: John O’Neill
Assistant Coach: Christy Nealon & Dermot O’Sullivan
Technical Assistant: Ray Gadsden
Manager: Tony Daly

2012-13 Season

There was a big change to the Munster Junior side with only nine of the 2011/12 squad selected for the Interprovincial series. 13 junior sides from across Munster were represented with Kanturk contributing seven players to the squad. The Junior side came out on top in their first game against Leinster at Grove Island in April 2013 with out-half Ben Martin scoring 21 points in a 31-27 win. Things got even better in their second game as they secured a bonus point in a 29-9 win over Ulster in Coleraine. The campaign was capped off with a 17-0 win at Connacht to seal Munster’s first Junior Interprovincial title in eight years. The side was captained by Kanturk’s Dan McCabe and coached by John O’Neill.

2012-13 Squad

Brian O’Neill (Kanturk), Declan Moloney (Newcastle West), Barry Kelly (St Marys), Patrick Ryan (St Senans), Mike Cronin (Castleisland), Martin Muldoon (Muskerry), Gareth Mulcahy (Clonmel), Barra Buckley (Kanturk), Stephen Burke (Galbally), Rory O’Donnell (St Marys), Dan McCabe Capt. (Kanturk), Ger Luby* (Kilfeacle), Dave O’Donoghue (Waterpark), Gary Piggot (Kanturk), Kevin Allen (Cobh Pirates), Brian Downey (St Marys), Stuart Lee (Old Christians), Mark Chandler (Cobh Pirates), Ben Martin (Clonmel), Darach Meade (Kanturk), Luke McCabe (Kanturk), Darren O’Keeffe (Crosshaven), Eoin Duffy (Waterpark), Rob Carroll (Clonmel), Greg Carroll (Clonmel), Peter Earlie (Kanturk), Tommy Kelleher (Newcastle West), Conor Cooney (Clonmel).

2011-12 Season

It proved to be a memorable season for the Munster Junior team – in early September they accepted an invitation to travel to Spain to engage the Unio Esportiva Santboiana Club who were celebrating their anniversary, although beaten the trip proved to be a worthwhile exercise. The opening series of games in the interprovincial championship saw the squad travel to Edenderry RFC to take on Leinster – this being the centenary season of the first ever meeting of the provinces at this level and following a fine contest the laurels were won. Victory over Ulster at Kanturk set up a championship decider with Connacht at Castleisland, despite having dominated the exchanges for long periods and leading on the scoreboard entering the closing quarter they lost the initiative when the visitors took the lead with an intercept try and the Connacht men subsequently held out for victory to retain their title. Stephen O’Sullivan (Tralee) led the side from the number 8 position, while the coaching duties were in the capable hands of John O’Neill.

2008-09 Season

A disappointing season for the junior team – a try conceded well in to injury time denied the side victory against the eventual champions Leinster. The game against Ulster saw the side build up an early lead, but they faded in the second half and they eventually ended up at the wrong end of a 9-20 score line.

While the loss to Connacht saw Munster suffer their first white wash at this level since 1987. Kevin O’Dwyer was once again in charge of coaching, and he was assisted by John Lillis and Martin Brislane, while Ger Luby (Kilfeacle & District) led the side throughout the campaign.

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Munster Rugby E-zine

Sign up to the e-zine to get all the latest news directly to your inbox from Munster Rugby