DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Rugby Roundup

3rd April 2022 By Leonard Allen

Provincial Rugby Roundup

It was a bad weekend for Munster clubs involved in All Ireland Competitions as all lost heavily.

Newcastle West’s hopes of progressing in the All Ireland Round Robin series came to halt at Navan when they lost to Ulster Junior League champions Instonians 38-6. The Munster champions trailed 12-6 at half time with Charlie O’Doherty kicking two penalties for Newcastle West.

In the Frazer McMullen Under 20 Cup UCC lost at home to UCD 42-17. Aidan Booth, Peter Hyland and Ross McAuliffe scored tries for the Cork students.

Young Munster lost at home to Dublin University 57-8. Dylan Higgins scored Young Munster’s try and Cian Casey kicked a penalty.

Shannon lost away to Old Belvedere 41-7 and Cork Constitution were beaten 61-24 by Lansdowne in Dublin.

Kilfeacle will travel to Bandon next week in the quarter final of the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup after they defeated UL Bohemian 33-3 in their fourth round tie at Morrissey Park. The visitors took an early lead with a penalty but two tries from Ricky Whitney and one each by Kevin Kinane, Brian Barlow and Cormac Ryan, saw Kilfeacle advance. Luke Heuston converted four of the tries.

In the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Plate, St Mary’s will face Thurles in next week’s Munster Junior Plate semi-final after their 19-12 away win at Fermoy. Paul Loughran got all the winners points, a try, conversion and four penalties. Mike Durkin and James O’Driscoll scored tries for Fermoy and Peter Clancy kicked a conversion.

Skibbereen defeated Tipperary 27-22 in the Women’s Division Cup Final, Vivienne O’Donovan scored two tries for Skibbereen and Kate O’Sullivan and Fionnula O’Driscoll got one each. Emma Connolly kicked two conversions and a penalty. Ciara O’Dwyer replied with two tries for the Tipperary side and Kaitlyn Callanan and Kate Kerrane got one each. Megan Callanan kicked one conversion.

St. Senans, despite recording a maximum point 35-12 home win over Skibbereen and finishing level on points in Section B of the Munster Junior League with the west Cork side, it is Skibbereen who finish higher because of the most wins. Aidan McMahon and Declan Rowe each scored two tries for St. Senan’s  and Darragh Leahy got one. Rowe kicked five conversions.

Thurles are the new leaders in Section C after their 32-12 away win over Ballincollig. Cathal Hayes scored three tries for the Tipperary side and Paddy McGrath and Luke Kelly got one each. McGrath kicked two conversions and a penalty. Liam McGarry replied with two tries for the home side and Charlie Boland kicked a penalty.

Charleville defeated Fethard 22-20 at the north Cork venue. Fethard led 13-7 at half time and had tries from Darren Prout and Josef O’Connor with O’Connor converting both tries and also adding two penalties. Ollie Young, Eoin McMahon and Eoghan Carroll replied with tries for Charleville and Jessie Smith kicked two conversions and a penalty.

Cobh Pirates finished top of Section D after their 59-5 away win at Waterford City. Owen McSweeney(2), Ben O’Donovan (2), Calvin McKeown, Emmet O’Sullivan, Ben Kennedy, Ian Jones and Mark Lynch were the Pirates try scorers and Rory Pierce kicked seven conversions.

Castleisland defeated Youghal 32-5 to clinch the Conference E title.  Pat Bán O’Sullivan scored two tries for the winners and Dean Cronin, Darren Donovan and Sean Nolan got one each. Joe Sheehy kicked a conversion and a penalty and Connie O’Sullivan also added a conversion. Scott O’Sullivan replied with a try for Youghal.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of Talent Squads Athletic Development Coach. The post holder is responsible for assisting with the design,...