DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Give It A Try 2022 Gets Underway Across Munster

9th May 2022 By The Editor

Give It A Try 2022 Gets Underway Across Munster

A view of Give It A Try at Muskerry RFC in Cork last week. Photo Credit: Muskerry RFC

Give It A Try 2022 is underway across Munster with 34 different clubs throughout the province providing girls aged 8-14 the opportunity to play rugby for the first time.

The Give It A Try camps are an eight-week programme run in selected clubs where girls can attend in order to learn how to play rugby in a fun environment.

The programme consists of a coach education element, fun rugby sessions and teaching the girls the basics of rugby. The clubs are responsible for the running of the programme in their area but with Provincial Branch and IRFU assistance.

This year there are 93 Give It A Try Clubs all over Ireland starting their camps between May 2nd and May 9th with 34 of those in Munster.

Of those 34 clubs in Munster, five are undertaking the programme for the first time; Castleisland RFC, Douglas RFC, Kanturk RFC, Midleton RFC and Muskerry RFC.

Please find details below of the clubs in Munster taking part.

Club Start date Time Contact name Mobile Email
Ballina Killaloe Thursday 5th May 18.00 – 19.00 Robert Alcock 086 108 3932 robert.alcock@intercomms.net
Ballincollig Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Harry Walsh 087 9202929 hcfwalsh@gmail.com
Bruff Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Heidi Van Schayk 087 667 9783 womensrugby@bruffrfc.com
Carrick on Suir Monday 2nd May 18.00 – 19.00 Katherine Fleming 087 2164025 kathleen.fleming@icloud.com
Castleisland RFC* Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Bill Horgan 087 6737147 billhorgan70@gmail.com
Dolphin Monday 9th May 18.30 – 19.30 Jane O’Leary 087 6733067 womensrugby@dolphinrfc.com
Douglas* Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Tadgh Fanning 085 7721024 tadghfanning@gmail.com
Dungarvan Monday 2nd May 18.30 – 19.30 Rachel O’Connell 087 6259446 womensofficer@dungarvanrugby.ie
Ennis Tuesday 3rd May 19.00 – 20.00 Lorchan Hoyne 087 6492026 lorchanhoyne@gmail.com
Fethard Monday 2nd May 19.00 – 20.00 Polly Murphy 086 3394959 fethardrfc@gmail.com
Garryowen Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Bart O’Brien 086 1042474 bob3golf@live.ie
Iveragh Monday 9th May 19.00 -20.00 Tanya O’Sullivan 087 9048084 tanyaosullivan6@gmail.com
Kanturk* Friday 6th May 19.00 – 20.00 Cherylee Herbst 083 8276131 c_delport@hotmail.com
Killarney Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Fiona Landers 087 2304689 fionamangan1@hotmail.com
Kilrush Tuesday 3rd May 19.00 – 20.00 Andy Burke 087 6330913 andyburke78@gmail.com
Kinsale Saturday 7th May 10.00 – 10.00 Paul O’Connor 087 2225871 pauljoconnor79@gmail.com 
Lisdoonvarna Tuesday 3rd May 17.30 – 18.30 Frankie Burke 085 1847198 frankieburke1@gmail.com
Listowel Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Gus Sweeney 087 2794759 gus.sweeney1@gmail.com
Mallow Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Ian Vaughan 086 2510504 ianjavaughan@gmail.com
Midleton* Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Peter Vanbalderen 0833408523 petervanbalderen@gmail.com
Muskerry* Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Catherine Coburn 087 2041806 catherine.coburn@me.com 
Newport Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Ciara Fielding Browne 086 3065125 Secnewportrfc@gmail.com 
Old Christians Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Liam O’Brien 085 1722532 lobrien@oldchristiansrfc.ie
Old Crescent Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Marie Carroll 087 2300870 mariehayescarroll@gmail.com
Richmond Thursday 5th May 18.00 – 19.00 Elaine O’Connor 087  1325109 elaine.oconnor1601@gmail.com
Scariff Friday 6th May 18.00 – 19.00 Christina McKenna 085 8099626  christinamadden8@icloud.com
Shannon Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Sinead Cunningham 086 6780000 sineadcierans@gmail.com
St Senans Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Brian Punch 087 6372621 briandermot37@gmail.com
Sunday’s Well Saturday 7th May 09.30 – 10.30 Colin Lahive 087 7956091 colin.lahive@gmail.com
Tralee Friday 6th May 18.30 – 19.30 Daniel Giles 087 2733317 danieltgiles@icloud.com
UL Bohs Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Niamh Kavanagh 086 1448909 niamh.kavanagh@ul.ie
Waterpark Wednesday 4th May 18.30 – 19.30 Mark Keller 086 7930441 mkeller9708@gmail.com
Youghal Monday 9th May 18.30 – 19.30 Ciara O’Flaherty 086 3725759 ciara.oflaherty@hotmail.com
Young Munster Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Eddie Connolly 087 2197986 ed.e.connolly@gmail.com

Please find a selection of pictures below from some Give It A Try events from last week:

Give It A Try at Muskerry RFC. Photo Credit: Muskerry RFC

Give It A Try at Dungarvan RFC. Photo Credit: Dungarvan RFC

Give It A Try at Ballincollig RFC. Photo Credit: Ballincollig RFC

Share

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are delighted to confirm the Ireland Women's team and the Ireland U20s return to Musgrave Park for the 2023 Six Nations with tickets...

X