DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Rockwell College Advance To Next Round Of Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup

12th January 2022 By Olan Allen

Rockwell College Advance To Next Round Of Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup

Rockwell College in action during today's Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup clash with Glenstal Abbey Photo Credit: Colbert O'Sullivan

Rockwell College booked their place in the next round of the Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup after a convincing 55-7 win over Glenstal Abbey in the opening game in this competition at Musgrave Park.

The game was over as a contest after 15 minutes as Rockwell raced into a 22-0 lead thanks mainly to a well drilled pack who dominated the forward exchanges.

Rockwell out half Peter McGarry cut through the Glenstal defence after two minutes and his conversion and a penalty shortly after made it 10-0.

Tadgh Carey scored the winners’ second try and McGarry added the extras and shortly after Robert Wall crossed the whitewash for a 22-0 half-time lead.

Glenstal dominated the second quarter territorially but could not find a way past a solid Rockwell defence despite the best efforts of Garvan Woodstock and Kieran Roche in the pack while Nyoleme Agbanobi always looked dangerous with ball in hand.

A minute into the second half, a break by Oisin O’Dwyer and Jock Fogarty sent Brian Gleeson racing 40 meters to score under the posts and McGarry converted to make it 29-0.

Henry Buttimer sent Wall in for his second try shortly after.

Glenstal were eventually rewarded for their efforts when Garvan Woodcock touched down and Michael Buckley converted.

In the final quarter Gleeson, O’Dwyer and Wall added tries and Kian O’Reilly converted all three tries.

Rockwell College: Henry Buttimer; Mathuín Carey, Robert Wall, Oisin O’Dwyer, Tadhg Carey; Peter McGarry, Will Bermingham; Ben Everard, Dillon Crowley, Jamie Browne; Conor Bowen, Jack Ryan; Joseph Lawrence, Jock Fogarty, Brian Gleeson.

Replacements: Rory McKevitt, Osato Ediale, Michael Richard Long, Tom O’Dea, Alex Harold-Barry, Clement McAuliffe, Kian O’Reilly, Conor Neville, Toby Collier, Luca Fitzgerald.

Glenstal Abbey: Ian Larkin; Ciaran Woodcock, Nyoleme Agbanobi, Darragh Lehane, Peter Queally; Michael Buckley, Finn Connolly; Dan Kennedy, Dermot Hughes, Jonathan Cunningham-Ash; Paddy Frawley, Daniel Hughes-Lavan; Pierce O’Neill, Garvan Woodcock, Kieran Roche.

Replacements: Brendan Collins, Jack Leahy, Bobby Kerr, Tom Breslin, Sebastian Crotty-Elder, Seamus Hanly, Michael McDonogh, Tom Ryan, John Twomey, Grégoire Francois.

Referee: Frank Murphy (MAR).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The venues for Ireland's 2024 Women's Six Nations fixtures have been confirmed, with Scott Bemand's side to play their home matches at The RDS, Musgrave...