DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Rugby Roundup

16th April 2023 By Leonard Allen

Richmond Round Robin

Richmond's Keelan Stephenson in action in the Energia All-Ireland League Promotion Playoff Final in Ashbourne RFC. INPHO/Bryan Keane

Richmond have failed in their bid to win the Round Robin series, as Cashel and Youghal win silverware, and Charleville will play in Division 1 of the Munster Junior League next season.

All Ireland Junior Cup holders Clogher Valley will be playing in Division 2C of the All Ireland League next season after their 31-17 victory over Richmond in the final of the Round Robin at Ashbourne. The visitors led 14-10 at halftime. Keelan Stephenson and Jeff McNamara scored tries for Richmond, and Tadgh Bennett converted both and also added a penalty.

Richmond must now face Midleton on Saturday week at Towns Park to decide which side will be playing in the All Ireland League next season and the losers in the Munster Junior League.

Cashel defeated St. Senan’s 25-20 to win the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Plate in a thrilling final at Musgrave Park. Cashel held an 18-3 halftime lead, but the Clare side hit back to lead  20-18 with ten minutes to go, but Cashel struck with a late converted try to claim the title.

Dylan Foley, Adam Shirley, Sean O’Connell, and Kealan Murphy scored tries for Cashel. James O’Sullivan kicked a conversion and Foley added a penalty.  Conor Ferns and Aidan McMahon replied with tries for Senan’s, and Decky Rowe converted both and also added two penalties.

Holders Newcastle West booked their place in the final of the Junior Clubs Challenge Cup against either Kilfeacle or Richmond after their 42-17  win over Old Christians at Rathcooney. Sean Murphy (2), Alex O’Halloran, Cian Clohessy, Rob Guerin, and Sean Ivess scored tries for Newcastle West. O’Halloran kicked four conversions and Andrew Mortell two. Tim Hegarty, Ronan Tollman, and Niall McCarthy replied with tries for Old Christians. John Marnell added one conversion.

Charleville booked their place in Division 1 of the Munster Junior League next season after their 14-6  win over Galbally-Mitchelstown in their playoff at Galbally. Jesse Smith scored a try and a penalty for Charleville, and Kian Smith kicked two penalties. John Kearns replied with two penalties for the home side.

A last-minute try for Youghal saw them win the Martin O’Sullivan Cup at Musgrave Park with a 20-15 win over Waterford City. Alan Frahill O’Connor scored two tries for Youghal and Scott O’Sullivan one. Jonathan Ormond kicked a conversion and a penalty.

U.L. Bohemian won the Women’s League Conference with a 56-12 win over Skibbereen at the 4GUL pitch.

There is now only one position to be confirmed in Division 1 of the Munster Junior League next season and that is the losers of the Midleton v Richmond playoff game. The other sides that will be playing in the topflight next season are Bandon, Charleville, Clanwilliam, Clonakilty, Kanturk, Kilfeacle, Mallow, Muskerry, Newcastle West, Skibbereen, Sunday’s Well, Thomond, and Thurles.

Division 2 will be made up of Abbeyfeale, Ballincollig, Cobh Pirates, Crosshaven, Fermoy, Fethard, Galbally-Mitchelstown, Kinsale, Old Christians, St. Mary’s, St. Senan’s, Tralee, Waterpark, and Youghal.

The remaining clubs will play in the Third Division, and they are Carrick-on-Suir, Castleisland, Douglas, Dungarvan, Ennis, Killorglin, Killarney, Scariff, and Waterford City.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of Talent Squads Athletic Development Coach. The post holder is responsible for assisting with the design,...