DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Rugby Roundup

28th January 2024 By Leonard Allen

Provincial Rugby Roundup

Castleisland beat Cobh Pirates 23-22 in the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup. Photo Credit: Castleisland RFC

The second round of the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup dominated the weekend action, with Scariff and Castleisland knocking out sides from a higher division.

Scariff defeated Fethard 17-8 with two tries from Massi Dorro who was making his debut for the club and one by Jason Monaghan who also added a conversion. Michael Flanagan replied with a try for Fethard and Jack Kealy kicked a penalty. Scariff will now host Highfield in Round 3.

A last minute try saw Castleisland pip Cobh Pirates at the Paddocks 23-22. Mike Cronin scored three tries for the Kerry side and Joe Sheehy kicked a conversion and two penalties. Cobh had tries from Charlie Rasmussen, Jack Gilmartin and Saul Kahn. Rory Pierce kicked two conversions and a penalty.

Old Christians defeated Tralee 50-33 after extra time to advance to an away tie at Newcastle West. This game also doubled up as a league game with the Rathcooney side levelling the game with a conversion from the touchline  with the last kick of the game in normal time. Cian Smith, Niall McCarthy, Sean Kelly, Ivan Tripp, Ryan Butt, Oscar Clarke, Jamie Hayes, and Jack McGrath were the Old Christian try scorers. Laz Rabatin kicked five conversions. Ben O’Neill (2), Fionn de Quadros, Liam Gannon, and Tom  Healy responded with tries for Tralee. Seamus Lynne kicked four conversions.

Division 2 leaders St. Mary’s were pushed all the way by Ardscoil Old Boys at Grove Island before advancing on a 20-12 scoreline. Arron Noonan scored two tries for the Saints and Adam Kiely got one. Paul Loughran kicked a conversion and a penalty. Darragh Farragher and Mark Leonard replied with tries for Ardscoil and Jamie Moore kicked a conversion.

Nenagh Ormond proved too strong for UL Bohemian with Nenagh emerging 28-10 winners. John Brislane, Frankie Butler, Robbie Tynan, and Conor O’Shaughnessy scored tries for Nenagh and Conor O’Brien kicked two penalties and a conversion. Gavin Sheahan replied with a try for UL Bohs and Andrew O’Leary kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Crosshaven defeated Dolphin  41-0 at Virgin Media Park with two tries from Jake Russell and one each from Kealan Daly, Anthony Sheehan, Denis McBarron, Shane Bushe, and Graham Smith. Daly kicked three conversions.

Kinsale defeated Youghal 40-14 with two tries from Evan O’Riordan and one each by Darragh Mangan, Dylan Mullen, Eric Lynch, and Mark O’Connell. Dylan Lacey converted five of the tries. Jason Coleman replied with a try for Youghal which Nathan O’Halloran converted, and they were also awarded a penalty try.

Bruff defeated Killarney 38-15. In a tight opening half Bruff led 19-15 and had  two tries each from Johnny Cleary and Adam O’Dwyer. Donnacha McCarthy and Darragh O’Brien also scored tries and Mark O’Connell  kicked four conversions. Padraig Talbot and Alan Lynch  had tries for Killarney, with Ciaran O’Brien kicking a conversion and a penalty.

Midleton ran out comfortable 33-12 home winners against Abbeyfeale. Josh Deady, Praise Popoola, Robert Smyth, Luke Dineen, and Evan Donovan scored tries for the east Cork side and Stuart O’Connor kicked four conversions. Jim Kelly scored a try for Abbeyfeale and they were also awarded a penalty try.

The draw for Round 3 is –

Cashel v U.C.C., Castleisland v Kinsale, Clonakilty v Clanwilliam, Crosshaven v St. Mary’s, Kilfeacle v Garryowen, Mallow v Kanturk, Muskerry v Cork Constitution, Newcastle West v Old Christians, Old Crescent v Bruff, Richmond v Bandon, Scariff v Highfield, Shannon v Sunday’s Well, Skibbereen v Nenagh Ormond, Thomond v St. Senan’s, Thurles v Midleton, Young Munster v Charleville.

The draw for the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Plate has also been announced. It is Youghal v Dolphin or Ennis; Cobh Pirates v Tralee; Killarney v Ardscoil Old Boys, and U.L. Bohemian v Abbeyfeale or Fethard.

Mallow closed the gap to two points on leaders Thomond in Division 1 of the Munster Junior League, with a 31-6 bonus point home win against Clanwilliam. Kevin Mills, Dylan Walsh, Eoin Buckley, Ryan Steward, and Aaron Holland scored tries for Mallow and Jimmy Glynn kicked three conversions. Darragh Burke kicked two penalties for the visitors.

Richmond defeated Charleville 14-12 in their relegation clash at Charleville. Darragh Joyce scored two tries for Richmond which Sean Considine converted. Jake Madigan  replied with two tries for the home some and Kian Smith added one conversion.

In Division 3 Carrick-on-Suir defeated Chorca Dhuibhne 16-14 with tries from Kieran Kinsella and Ryan O’Donoghue and Neil Moriarity kicked two penalties. Brian Ó Murchú and Mikey Devine replied with tries for the Dingle side and Seamus Ó Muircheartaigh converted both.

Sunday’s Well advanced to the semi-finals of the Junior Clubs Challenge Cup after defeating Kilfeacle in an exciting tussle on the back pitch in Virgin Media Park.  Shane O’Neill, Finn MacFhlannchadha, Alex Guerin and Cathal Quinn scored tries for the ‘Well, and Logan Henry kicked four penalties and two conversions. Keith Bourke, Jacques van Wyngaardt, Darren Lowry, and Kevin Kinnane scored tries for Kilfeacle, and Luke Heuston kicked two conversions and three penalties.

The ’Well will now travel to Newcastle West in the semi-finals after the holders defeated Thurles 20-0 in their quarter final. Daniel Normoyle and Andrew Mortell scored tries for Newcastle West and Shane Airey converted both and also added two penalties.

Bandon booked their spot in the last four after their  16-9 home win over Muskerry. Brendan Twohig and Hugh O’Mahony scored tries for the winners and Dylan Barr kicked two penalties. Rob Cahill replied with three penalties for the visitors.

Bandon must now wait for the winners of next week’s other quarter final tie between Richmond and Thomond to know their semi-final opponents.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster Men's and Women's sides will be in action from August as the Women take part in the Vodafone Women's Interprovincial Championship and the...