DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Rugby Roundup

4th December 2022 By Leonard Allen

Provincial Rugby Roundup

Bandon defeated Clanwilliam 32-3 in Section A of the Munster Junior League. Photo Credit: Bandon RFC

The top six sides in Section A of the Munster Junior League all recorded bonus point wins, as the gap grows wider between the top half and bottom half of the table.

Bandon, Kilfeacle, and Richmond are level on points at the top, with Mallow in fourth, four points behind, and holders Newcastle West a further point behind, but with a game in hand.

Bandon traveled to Tipperary Town and defeated Clanwilliam 32-3 with tries from Darragh O’Brien, Matthew Crowley, Adam Murphy, and John Mahony. Ben Ridgeway kicked three conversions and two penalties. Niall Leahy replied with a penalty for the home side.

Kilfeacle defeated St. Mary’s 36-6 at Grove Island. Cillian Noonan scored three tries for Kilfeacle, and Kevin Kinnane got two. Gavin Heuston kicked four conversions and a penalty. Jazz Pendejito replied with two penalties for the home side.

Richmond defeated bottom side Abbeyfeale 45-29. Tadgh Bennett contributed twenty-five points to his side’s tally with two tries, six conversions, and a penalty. Thomas O’Brien ran in two tries and Ryan Meagher and Keith McCarthy got one each. Philip Daly, Jaques van Wyngaardt, Cillian Pegley, and Jamie O’Sullivan replied with tries for Abbeyfeale, who were also awarded a penalty try. Sean Kilbridge added a conversion.

Newcastle West defeated Crosshaven 26-7 with tries from Cillian Mulcahy, Daniel Normoyle, David O’Donovan, and Eoin O’Halloran. Shane Airey kicked three conversions. Crosshaven replied with a try and a conversion from Jack O’Connell.

Mallow maintained their challenge with a 39-23 away win at Muskerry. Yasushi Katsuta, and Stephen Hayes were Mallow try scorers. They were also awarded two penalty tries. Sam Glynn kicked two conversions and a penalty, and Dave Cogan also added a penalty.

Skibbereen got back to winning ways with a 26-20 home win against Old Christians. Liam Carey, Daniel Duggan, Gavin Foley, and Michael Donovan scored tries for Skibbereen. Jack Driscoll kicked three conversions. Ryan Butt, Ryan O’Connell, and Craig O’Connell replied with tries for the Rathcooney side. Conor Dolan kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Thomond’s recent revival continued with a narrow 17-15 home win against Thurles. Dean McGinn, Kealan McMahon, and Conor Lipper scored tries for Thomond, and Eoghan Sherlock converted one of the tries. Martin Kelly, and Mark Cummins replied with tries for Thurles. Paddy McGrath added a conversion and a penalty.

Waterpark had to withstand a late rally from Clonakilty at Ballinakill; having led 23-0 at one stage, they managed to hold on for a 23-19 victory. Jack Walsh, Willie Walsh, and Dermot Lannon scored tries for Waterpark. Willie Walsh kicked two conversions and a penalty. Clonakilty replied with tries from Jim Twomey, Ben Lovell, and Rory Fletcher. Eoin Downey kicked two conversions.

Fethard maintained their unbeaten run in Section B after a 29-16 home win against Fermoy. Peter Wall and Ritchie Carroll were the Fethard try scorers. Josef O’Connor kicked five penalties and two conversions. Fermoy replied with a try from Dylan Foley, and Ben Twomey kicked a conversion and three penalties.

Galbally-Mitchelstown moved up to second after a hard-earned 13-10 away win at St. Senan’s. John Kearins got all the winner’s points with a try, conversion, and two penalties.  David Webb scored a try for Senan’s. Declan Rowe converted and also added a penalty.

Scariff put a dent in Waterford City’s promotion aspirations with a 13-5 victory. David Smith and Henry Purcell scored tries for Scariff, and Jason Monaghan kicked a penalty.

Ennis defeated Dungarvan 45-10. Oscar O’Gara, Zach Whelehan (2), Cian Guilfoyle (2), Enda Galvin, and Stephen Dolan were the try scorers for Ennis. Sean Hayes kicked five conversions. Mike Hayes and Jack Cullinane replied with tries for Dungarvan.

Youghal moved off the foot of the table with a 54-14 home win against Carrick-on-Suir. Oran Finn scored three tries for the winners, Stephen Kelly two, and Scott O’Sullivan, Ben Inglemells, and Conor Doyle got one each. Doyle kicked four penalties and three conversions. Adam O’Loughlin and Fionn Barry scored tries for Carrick’ and Barry converted both.

Charleville defeated leaders Kinsale 17-12 in Section C. James O’Flynn scored Charleville’s try and Kian Smith kicked four penalties.

Kanturk defeated Killorglin 38-12. Ronan O’Brien scored two tries for the winners, and Olan Daly, Matt Daly, Ciaran Vaughan, and Stephen McAuliffe were their other try scorers. McAuliffe kicked three conversions, and Matthew Hooton one. Darragh O’Shea, and Cormac Doyle replied with tries for Killorglin, and Luke O’Shea added a conversion.

Tralee and Ballincollig played out a 24-24 draw at O’Dowd Park. Sean O’Mahony, Ben Glavin each scored two tries for Tralee. Seamus Lyne kicked two conversions. Darragh O’Shea, Liam McGarry, and Steve O’Connell scored tries for Ballincollig. Charlie Boland added three conversions, and a penalty.

Castleisland defeated Douglas 41-7 at Castletreasure. Joe Sheehy (2), Mike Cronin, Adam Jenson, Connie Reynolds, Darren Donovan, and Shane Brosnan were Castleisland’s try scorers. Sheehy kicked three conversions. Shane McGuinness replied with a try for Douglas, and Padraig McSweeney converted.

Thurles defeated Waterpark 39-5 in Conference B of the Women’s League. Kaitlyn Callanan, and Emma Byrne each scored two tries for the winners. Gemma Dunican, Isobell Kennedy and Holly O’Dwyer got one apiece. Saoirse Kelly kicked two conversions.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are delighted to confirm that the Cork Centre Of Excellence will go out to tender next week. Works are expected to begin this...