DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Roundup

13th November 2022 By Leonard Allen

Provincial Roundup

Mallow earned a 13-10 win over Thurles in the Munster Junior League. Photo Credit: Mallow RFC

The majority of games in the Munster Junior League went ahead, despite some postponements due to weather.

Leaders Richmond the only unbeaten side in Section A of the Munster Junior League lost that record when they went down 14-7 at Ballyanly to Muskerry. The home side raced into a 14-0 halftime lead with a try from Mike Dillane and three penalties by Rob Cahill. Jeff McNamara replied with a try for the Limerick side and Tadhg Bennett converted.

Bandon recorded their first bonus point win of the campaign to move into joint second place in the league, five points behind Richmond after their 43-19 away win at Abbeyfeale. Gearoid O’Leary, Matthew Crowley, James Collins O’Brien, Ben Ridgeway, Tom Ferguson, and Tadhg Galvin scored tries for Bandon, and Ridgeway kicked five conversions and a penalty. Abbeyfeale replied with two tries from Jacques van Wyngaardt and one by Jamie O’Sullivan, with Roman Quirke converting all three tries.

Kilfeacle are level with Bandon after their 17-15 away win in Skibbereen. Luke Heuston, Darren Lowry, and Brian McLoughlin scored tries for Kilfeacle and Heuston added one conversion. David Shannon and Tom Beard replied with tries for Skibbereen and Shannon kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Mallow also brought themselves back into the race for the title with a 13-10 away win in Thurles. Sam Glynn and Yasushi Katsuta scored tries for Mallow and Dave Cogan added a penalty. Thurles replied with a Sonny Dwyer try and a conversion and a penalty by Paddy McGrath.

Newcastle West’s home game with Clonakilty was postponed due to a bereavement in the Clonakilty club.

Thomond edged out Crosshaven 24-21 at Liam Fitzgerald Park. Dean O’Brien scored two late tries for Thomond, and Conor Radcliffe got one, with Eoghan Sherlock converting all three. Killian Markham kicked a penalty. Crosshaven had tries from Graham Smith and Joe O’Brien, and Jack O’Connell kicked a conversion and three penalties.

Waterpark defeated Old Christians 23-17 at Ballinakill. Jack Walsh scored two tries for the home side, and Willie Walsh converted both and also added three penalties. Cian Smith and Conor Dolan replied with tries for Old Christians. Dolan converted both tries and also added three penalties.

Clanwilliam edged out St. Mary’s 15-13 at Clanwilliam Park. Micheál Sharpe and Ben Downey were try scorers for Clanwilliam and Niall Leahy added a conversion and a penalty. Gareth Moore had a try for Mary’s which Jazz Pendejito converted and also added two penalties.

In Section B the games at Cobh and Youghal were both postponed as a result of the weather.

Fethard maintained their lead with a 28-12 home win over Dungarvan. Paddy Gaynor, Robert Wall, Peter Wall, and Josef O’Connor scored tries for Fethard, and O’Connor converted all four tries. Martin Houlihan and Tadgh Coyne were try scorers for Dungarvan, and Joey Doherty added one conversion.

Waterford City maintained their challenge for promotion with a 27-18 home win over Carrick-on-Suir. Aidan O’Neill, Andrew Condron, and Seaghan Walsh scored tries for Waterford, who were also awarded a penalty try. Noah Mellors kicked a conversion and a penalty. Ryan O’Donoghue and Tom Reid replied with tries for Carrick. Fionn Barry kicked two penalties and a conversion.

Ennis moved off the foot of the table as they shared the points with neighbours St Senan’s 27-27 with a dramatic last-minute penalty. Cian Guilfoyle scored two tries for Ennis, Dylan Kenny and Oisin Mangan got one each, with Mangan kicking two penalties and a conversion. Martin Corbett replied with two tries for Senan’s and Feargal Lawlor got one. Declan Rowe converted all three tries and kicked two penalties.

Kinsale went top in Section C as a result of receiving a walkover from Douglas.

Kanturk and Charleville are a point behind after both clubs recorded victories.

Kanturk travelled to Bantry and won 48-8. Brian O’Sullivan scored two tries, and Stephen McAulliffe, Matt Daly, Barry Sherlock, Michael Twohig, Ciaran Vaughan and Eanna O’Mahony also scored tries. McAuliffe added four conversions. Rory Fitzgerald replied with a try for Bantry Bay and George O’Connor kicked a penalty

Charleville defeated Tralee 17-7 with tries from Jack Madigan and David Forde. Jesse Smith converted both and also added a penalty. Alaister Hoban scored a try for Tralee and Seamus Lyne converted.

Ballincollig defeated Killarney 12-10 with tries from James Hurley and Mike O’Shea. Liam McGarry kicked one conversion. Ger Moynihan scored a try for Killarney which Donnchda Grealy converted.

Castleisland defeated Killorglin 23-10 with tries from Jonathan Healy, Eric Sweeney, and Adam Jansen. Connie Reynolds kicked two penalties and a conversion. Jim Sugrue scored Killorglin’s try, which Luke O’Shea converted and also added a penalty.

In the Women’s League Conference B, Thurles defeated Ennis-Kilrush 52-0. Aishling O’Hagan (4), Gemma Dunican (2), Katie Jones, and Kate Cavanagh were try scorers for Thurles. Megan Callanan kicked six conversions.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are delighted with today’s announcement of an additional Large Scale Sports Infrastructure Grant allocation of €1.2m for the Cork Centre of Excellence at...