DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

PBC Victory in Junior Cup Semi Sets Up Possible Double

14th March 2007 By Munster Rugby

PBC’s 8-7 victory over Crescent College Comprehensive in today’s Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup semi final sees the Cork side compete in both the Senior and Junior Cup finals next week

Crescent College Comprehensive 7-8 Presentation Brothers College

Presentation Brothers College will compete in both the Schools’ Senior and Junior Cup finals next week after a narrow win over Crescent College Comprehensive today saw them through to next Wednesday’s Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup final. With the Senior team vying for honours on Monday, the possibility of a double victory will surely spur them on.

In the tightest of games at Tom Clifford Park, PBC edged out Crescent with an 8-7 victory. The Limerick side opened the scoring with a try from centre Dara O’ Doherty after a kick ahead within three minutes of kick off. Winger Shane O’ Brien converted to put Crescent 7-0 ahead. Midway through the first half PBC full back Pat Deasy claimed their first points- successfully kicking a penalty from in front of the posts to leave the score 7-3 in Crescent’s favour at half time.

Five minutes after the restart, PBC took the lead after Deasy crossed the line for a try, with the conversion missed. With a physically superior PBC pack helping to retain possession for the Cork side for much of the second half, Crescent were unable add to their score. With eight minutes of injury time played, PBC’s victory was sounded, and they now look forward to a meeting with Castletroy College in next Wednesday’s final. Despite being on the losing end of the scoreline, second row Gavin Herbert, No. 8 David Cowper and flanker Kevin O’Shea impressed for the Limerick side. For PBC, Pat Deasy was influential, with No. 8 Brian Carroll and Captain Niall Scannell also standing out.

Crescent College Comprehensive
15. Thomas Ryan, 14. Shane O’Brien, 13. Dara O’Doherty, 12. JJ O’Toole, 11. Jurgen Quinlan, 10. Gareth Quinn-McDonagh, 9. Robert Fenton, 1. John Randles, 2. Luke Malone, 3. Luke Murray, 4. Jack Donovan, 5. Gavin Herbert, 6. Eoghan Cross (Captain), 7. Kevin O’Shea, 8. David Cowper
Replacements: 16. Niall Horan, 17. Neal Darcy, 18. Ross Tiernan, 19. Cian Russell, 20. Peter Coffey, 21. Shane Grehan, 22. Kevin Meade

Presentation Brothers College
15. Pat Deasy, 14. Will Murphy, 13. Cian Bohane, 12. Graham Murphy, 11. Sean Og Murphy, 10. Jack Costigan, 9. Matthew Kelleher, 1. Niall Scannell (Captain), 2. Brian Vaughan, 3. Ian Mullarkey, 4. Dave O’Mahony (wearing 6), 5. Killian Kingston, 6. Rob O’Herlihy (wearing 4), 7. Jack Duffy, 8. Brian Carroll
Replacements: 16. Bryan Coughlan, 17. Steve Lynch, 18. Kieran Ryan, 19. Daniel Horgan, 20. Brian Forde, 21. Paul McKeown, 22. Cathal O’Flaherty
23. Aaron O Connor


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...