DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster U20’s Close Contest in Leeds

20th August 2007 By Munster Rugby

Munster U20’s Close Contest in Leeds

Munster U20’s had a narrow defeat to an older Leeds Academy side on Saturday at Headingley, the home of Leeds Carnegie and Leeds Rhinos, in what proved to be excellent preparation ahead of the upcoming U20 interprovincials.

With the new adidas team kit worn for the first time on the field of play, Brian Derham, Diarmuid McMahon and Richie Mullane all crossed the line for Munster, with Andrew Burke slotting over a penalty and a conversion.

The Munster U20 side face UL Bohemians Senior team in their second warm up game on Saturday next, August 25th in Annacotty, Limerick (kick off 12pm).

The U20 squad has been in training since the end of June under Manager Alan Miller and Coaches Hamish Adams and Ian Costello. The initial group of 40 players was cut down to a squad of 26 ahead of last weekend’s game.

The U20’s Interprovincial Championship kicks off at the end of August and will run through to the end of September. This is a huge opportunity for up and coming Munster players as they get a chance to contest for places in the Irish U20’s squad and the Munster Rugby Academy.

Saturday 25/08/07- UL Bohemians- Annacotty, Limerick- 12 Noon
Friday 31/08/07- Connacht- Sportsgrounds, Galway- 17.00
Saturday 08/09/07- Leinster- Musgrave Park, Cork- 15.00
Friday 14/09/07- Ulster- Ravenhill, Belfast- 19.00
Saturday 22/09/07 – Finals – Athlone, Co. Westmeath – Time TBC

Munster U20 Management Team:
Manager: Alan Miller
Coaches: Hamish Adams and Ian Costello.
Physio: Scott Murphy.
Video Analysis: Lenny Browne.
Fitness Trainer: Ray Egan.
Kit Manager: Ian Fleming

Munster U20 Squad 07/08
Forwards Backs
John Ryan Prop CBC Diarmuid Upton Scrum Half Crescent Comprehensive
Stephen Archer Prop UCC Andrew Burke Fly Half Crescent Comprehensive
Patrick O’ Regan Prop UL Bohs Eoin Kennedy Scrum Half UCC
David Kilcoyne Prop Ard Scoil Ris Declan Cusack Fly Half Thomond
Matthew Kearney Hooker UCC Scott Deasy Centre PBC
Michael Sherry Hooker Garryowen Richard Mullane Fullback Shannon
David Foley Second Row UL Bohs Murray Kinsella Centre Newtown College
Ian Nagle Second Row Glenstal Sean Scanlon Fullback Crescent College
John Griffin Second Row Young Munster Diarmuid McMahon Winger Castletroy College
Niall Barry Back Row PBC Brian Derham Winger PBC
Kieran Essex Back Row UCC Mark Cosgrove Winger Thomond
Noel Kinnane Back Row UL Bohs John Verling Winger Roscrea College
James O’ Neill Back Row Ard Scoil Ris
Liam Og Murphy Back Row Young Munster


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Musgrave Park will host the Ireland Women’s team again next year with the 2023 6 Nations home games against France and England taking place in...