DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Junior Rugby Round-Up

29th April 2018 By Leonard Allen

Bandon secured their second successive Munster Junior Cup

Bandon are just 80 minutes away from moving up to Senior rugby

Bandon will face Bruff in next week’s All Ireland League Division 2C Play off to decide who will be playing Senior and Junior Rugby next season.

Bandon will face Bruff in next week’s All Ireland League Division 2C Play off to decide who will be playing Senior and Junior Rugby next season.

Bandon were made battle all the way for a 21-17 victory over Instonians to finish runners up to Ballina who went through the All Ireland Provincial League campaign undefeated and will now play in the All Ireland League next season.

Instonians who needed a bonus point victory to keep their hopes alive got off to a great start with a converted try from Frazer Wright. A try by Gearoid O’Leary converted by Kerry Desmond levelled the scores.

Andrew Keane then put the Ulster side back in front with a try but Bandon responded with a Tom Ferguson try and Desmond converted. Three minutes into added time Josh Friar made it 17-14 with a third Instonians try.

Instonians went in search of a fourth try but in the 89th minute an intercept by Kerry Desmond saw him touch down and convert to leave Bandon just eighty minutes away from a return to Senior ranks.

In the curtain raiser to the Junior Cup final Bruff defeated Bantry Bay 22-17 in a keenly contested tie in the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Bowl Final.

Tries by Michael McCarthy and Paddy Thomson along with a penalty by Cian Clifford had Bruff 13-7 ahead at the break. Kevin O’Kane replied with a try for Bantry and Andre Polivka converted.

Four minutes into the second half Declan Coppinger went in under the posts for a Bantry try and Polivka converted to put the west Cork side ahead. Bruff hit back with three penalties from Michael Carroll and a Jason Wycherly penalty in injury time was not enough for Bantry to keep their hopes of winning their first provincial title.

Ennis defeated Dungarvan 29-14 to win the Martin O’Sullivan Cup at Clanwilliam Park. Cian Guilfoyle, Johnny Martin, Dylan Tynan O’Mahony, Mark Taylor and Enda Galvin scored tries for Ennis and Bryan Murphy added two conversions.

Shane Norris and Pat Connors were Dungarvan’s try scorers and David Hickey converted both.

Kanturk won the Cork County Cup with a 29-10 victory over Clonakilty. Jack Bradley, Ronan O’Brien and Sean Leneghan scored tries for Kanturk, who were also awarded a penalty try. Conor Cremin kicked two conversions and a penalty. Ger McCarthy replied with a try for Clonakilty and Eoghan Deasy converted and added a penalty.

Crosshaven won the O’Neill Cup defeating Mallow 26-8 in the final at Cobh. Stephen Curran scored two tries for the winners and Sean Scriven and Conor Dunlea got one apiece. Ian Smith kicked three conversions. Mike Sweeney replied with a try for Mallow and Jimmy Glynn added a penalty.

Dunmanway defeated Cobh Pirates 15-10 to win the Kelly Cup at Rathcooney. Andrew Doyle and Liam Rice scored tries for Dunmanway and Darragh McCarthy kicked a penalty and a conversion. Eamon Ronan replied with a try for Cobh and Sean Meade added a conversion and a penalty.

Elsewhere Garryowen retained the Munster Junior Two League crown with a 20-17 win over Cork Constitution in an exciting final at Dooradoyle.

Carrick-on-Suir lifted the Carroll Plate defeating U.L. Bohemian 19-12 in the decider at Kilballyowen Park, while Ballincollig defeated Charleville 10-6 in the Tait Cup Final.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are now inviting applications for two part-time Women’s Rugby Participation Officers. See full details and apply below. The province is also recruiting for...