DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Irish Women’s Squad for European Championship

24th April 2008 By Munster Rugby

Irish Women’s Squad for European Championship

The Irish rugby squad for the upcoming FIRA Women’s European Championship has been announced.

Head coach Simon Broughton, who is takes the reigns for the competition on a temporary basis following the recent departure of John O’Sullivan, has named a familiar looking squad but will fill the two remaining places left open after a final training session this weekend.

Ireland will play three games in the ten-day tournament being held in Amsterdam next month and the squad will be led Leinster prop Fiona Coghlan.

Coghlan steps into the captaincy role in place of Sarahjane Belton who after 60 consecutive caps – 26 of those at captain – has been forced to pull out of the squad due to an ongoing back injury.

Belton will be a big loss to the squad especially after she impressed again in the recent Six Nations tournament and Ireland manager Rachel Reid said that she was hopeful that the star fullback would make a full recovery.

"Sarahjane has had an impeccable record for the team and her experience and leadership will be sorely missed. I would like to take this opportunity to thank her for her immense contribution to the team since her debut at the European Championships in May 2000 and wish her a full recovery from injury over the coming months, so that she may return to represent Ireland again in the future."

Ireland fly out to take part in the eight-team competition on May 16 to prepare for their opening game against Spain and they return on May 25

Ireland squad to travel to the FIRA Women’s European Championships.

(Two players to be added after this weekend)

Forwards (15)

Caroline Mahon UL Bohemians

Debbie Clarke Blackrock

Eimear O’Sullivan Highfield

Emer McManamly Blackrock

Fiona Coghlan UL Bohemians

Germaine Healy Blackrock

Gillian Bourke UL Bohemians

Jess Limbert Cooke

Joy Neville UL Bohemians

Kate O’Loughlin Clonmel

Louise Austin Blackrock

Marie Barrett Highfield

Orla Brennan Blackrock

Sinead Ryan Blackrock

A N Other

Backs (11)

Amy Davis Cooke

Grace Davitt Blackrock

Helen Brosnan Highfield

Jeanette Feighery UL Bohemians

Jo O’Sullivan Richmond

Louise Beamish UL Bohemians

Lynne Cantwell UL Bohemians

Niamh Briggs Clonmel

Shannon Houston Blackrock

Tania Rosser Blackrock

A N Other


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...