DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Con Claim Junior Cup Title

26th April 2008 By Munster Rugby

Despite the inclement weather, the spirits of the Cork Constitution supporters at Musgrave Park on Friday night were high after their side claimed their seventeenth Heineken Munster Junior Cup, after taking the lead in the last ten minutes and finishing off with a superb injury time try from captain Robert Casey sealing the win.

Heineken Munster Junior Cup Final

Cork Constitution 17-10 UCC

Musgrave Park

Cork Constitution were forced to make some late changes, with Peter Broughan, returning from injury, called up to the starting fifteen after a family bereavement ruled out centre Joe Cullen.

UCC struck first with a penalty kicked in the opening minute by centre Brian Derham and it was the college side that looked for the early scores, with their back line showing early flashes of pace. Five minutes into the game centre Ivan Dineen made a terrific 30 metre break starting from inside his own half after a clever offload by out half Ronan O’Sullivan saw Dineen break the defence only to be stopped by a vigilant Constitution defence.

Constitution levelled after 13 minutes with Daragh Lyons doing the honours and claiming Constitution’s first score of the game.

Playing with the wind, UCC held possession for long periods in the first half, however Constitution’s tight defensive work ensured UCC couldn’t break through. UCC looked threatening out wide, with some excellent interplay between Ronan O’Sullivan and his backs, including Peter Shallow on the wing who was stopped just short of the line after 15 minutes by some excellent defence Cork Constitution.

UCC were awarded a second penalty just on the half hour mark, however Derham’s strike failed to find its target and the sides remained level as half time approached.

Constitution looked to exert some control over the game as the first half counted down, however some handling errors halted their progress and saw them seven points down after Brian Derham scored an opportunistic try. A dropped ball was kicked through by the UCC centre who raced to secure the first touch on the ball just left of the posts. Converting his own try, Derham gave UCC a 10-3 lead with five minutes remaining in the first half. To add to Constitution’s woes, they were reduced to 14 men after Gareth Murray was sinbinned moments before half time was called.

UCC’s Eoghan Kennedy sought to penetrate the Constitution defence shortly after the restart, with an excellent 25 metre break showing off his great evasion skills.

Constitution had a clear scoring chance after ten minutes of the second half with Daragh Lyons making a superb break however, just metres from the line a forward pass ensured the pass didn’t find its target, relieving the pressure for UCC. Three minutes later however Lyons clawed back three points for Constitution after a successful penalty kick.

The wet weather conditions however did nothing to promote any kind of open running, with spilled ball ensuring numerous scrums and considerably hampering the flow of the game.

After 67 minutes Lyon’s brought Constitution within a point of UCC with another successful penalty attempt, setting up a close fight to the finish. Seconds later however Constitution were reduced to 14 men for the second time in the game when second row Emmet Cassidy was sent to the bin for an offence at the ruck.

Despite the sin binning, Constitution thrived in the closing stages, with a penalty in the 73rd minute saw Constitution take the lead for the first time in the game, leading 12-10 with minutes on the clock.

A great break by Ed Leamy and a well timed pass to his captain Robert Casey in injury time sealed the victory for Cork Constitution, with Casey’s touch down in the corner confirming Constitution’s win. The final result was 17-10.

Cork Constitution:
15. Michael Keyes, 14. Paul Hurley, 13. Peter Broughan, 12. Dermot O’Kane, 11. Robert Casey (Captain), 10. Daragh Lyons, 9. Chris Nolan, 1. Gareth Murray, 2. Robert Quinn, 3. Ryan Hassan, 4. John Maloney, 5. Emmet Cassidy, 6. Niall Barry, 7. David Daly, 8. Ed Leamy
Replacements: Des Murray for Barry (50), Tom Ryan for Hassan (21), Dave O’Leary for Nolan (40)

15. Paul Moynihan, 14. Peter Shallow, 13. Brian Derham, 12. Ivan Dineen, 11. Colin Crowley, 10. Ronan O’Sullivan (Captain), 1. Jason Carton, 2. Noel Finneran, 3. Will O’Donovan, 4. Peter Murphy, 5. Chris Kenefick, 6. James Ryan, 7. Conor Harbison, 8. Jonathan Harte, 9. Eoghan Kennedy
Replacements: Riobeard Wilmot for Carton (70), 18. Mike Kenefick, 19. Colin O’Brien, 20. Tim Kenneally

Referee: Dave O’Shea (MAR)
Touch Judge 1: Dave O’Flynn (MAR)
Touch Judge 2: Kieran Murphy (MAR)
Official No. 4: Paul O’Brien (MAR)
Official No. 5: John Burnett (MAR)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Musgrave Park will host the Ireland Women’s team again next year with the 2023 6 Nations home games against France and England taking place in...