DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Historic Day For Young Munster

18th March 2022 By Leonard Allen

Young Munster

Alan Kennedy lifts the Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup. INPHO/Ben Brady

Young Munster created history as they defeated Garryowen 11-8  in the Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Cup decider on the Bank Holiday Friday of the St Patrick’s weekend before a large attendance at Thomond Park to retain the trophy for the first time in their history.

This is Young Munster’s ninth triumph and it was also their first victory over the Sky Blues in a final. 

Both sides looked to run the ball on a day when conditions suited open running rugby, while solid defensive work by both sides made for a low scoring contest. 

Garryowen, who had the elements in their favour in the opening half, dominated possession but missed two early penalties, before Evan Cusack opened the scoring with a penalty for Young Munster in the 12th minute. 

Colm Quilligan levelled matters with a penalty for Garryowen, which left the sides tied on three points apiece at the interval. 

Five minutes after the restart, Tommy O’Hora put the Sky Blues in the driving seat with the game’s opening try. 

Cusack kept Young Munster within touching distance with his second penalty in the 53rd minute before, and Cian Casey restored Young Munster’s lead with a try ahead of a scoreless final quarter. 

Scorers: Young Munster: Evan Cusack 2 pens; Cian Casey try.

Garryowen: Tommy O’Hora try, Colm Quilligan pen.

Young Munster: Cian Casey; Conor Hayes, Harry Fleming, Evan O’Gorman, Conor Phillips; Evan O’Gorman, Donnchadh O’Callaghan; David Begley, Mark O’Meara, Conor Bartley; Tom Goggin, Sean Rigney; Alan Kennedy, Conor Moloney, Bailey Faloon.

Replacements: Shane Malone, Paul Allen, Colm Skehan, Liam Neilan, Jack Lyons, Pa Ryan, Jason Kiely.

Garryowen: Colm Quilligan, Ed Barry, Mattie Sheehan, Dave McCarthy, Tommy O’Hora; Jack Delaney, Evan Maher; Jack Mullany, Dylan Murphy, James Kendrick; Tim Ferguson, Kevin Seymour; Roy Whelan, Des Fitzgerald, Alan Fitzgerald.

Replacements: Larry Kelly, Michael Veale, Jack Madden, Scott Leahy, Oisin Cooke, Sean Rennison, Aaron Cosgrove, Hugh O’Brien-Cunningham.

Referee: Barrie O’Connell (MAR).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Match Day Squad, sponsored by PwC, for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Wales at Virgin Media...