DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Con and Garryowen Set for the Final

3rd May 2008 By Munster Rugby

In a repeat of last year’s final Cork Constitution and Garryowen will contest the final of the AIB All Ireland League Division One on Sunday May 11th in Musgrave Park after convincingly defeating Clontarf and Shannon respectively on Saturday.

Garryowen’s hopes of winning back to back titles were kept alive after their four try tally helped them, and defeated near rivals Shannon 31-6 at Coonagh.

Garryowen led 14-3 at the break after Conor Kilroy slotted over three penalties and David Sherry claimed their first try after 35 minutes. Mossy Lawler got Shannon’s scoring off to a start with an early drop goal.

In the second half, Garryowen took a firm hold with tries from Kieran Lewis, Conan Doyle and Keith Earls while David O’Donovan’s penalty was Shannon’s only second half score.

At Templehill, Cork Constitution proved too strong for Clontarf, after building on a 5-0 lead at half time to win 17-3 and claim their spot in next weekend’s final.

Winger Cronan Healy’s superb first half effort after 27 minutes gave Con the lead, with full back Richie Lane and prop Timmy Ryan crossing the line in the second half to seal the win.

Clontarf’s only score came from a penalty kicked by Daragh O’Shea.

The final will take place in Musgrave Park on Sunday May 11th.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are delighted to confirm that the Cork Centre Of Excellence will go out to tender next week. Works are expected to begin this...