DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Club News Weekending 12th August 2007

7th August 2007 By Munster Rugby

Club News Weekending 12th August 2007

All the latest news from clubs around the province.


David Ellickson & John Kavanagh Memorial Trophies
Under 20’s Blitz Tournament ( 15 a Side )

The above tournament will be held in our grounds in Ballinakill on Saturday 6th.October 2007 commencing at 11:00am

It is envisaged to have approximately 12 /15 teams compete on the day.

This competition is now in its ninth year and during these years teams from Bruff, Thomond, Young Munster, Highfield, Sundays Well, U.C.C, Shannon, Old Belvedere, Naas, Skerries, Bective, Clomnel, Waterford City, Wanderers, Greystones and UL Bohs to name but a few have competed.

Also the Ellickson and Kavanagh families have donated two absolutely magnificent trophies for both the winners and also the Player of the Tournament.

As the A.I.L Under 20 competition is due to commence later in October, participation in this tournament would serve as a very good morale boosting and training exercise for your players.

Should your club wish to enter a team please contact the undersigned for further details. Teams will be taken on a first come basis.

A panel of 22 players (Maximum) together with Team Manager, Coach and Physio will be catered for on the day. Tickets will be issued to the Team Manager for food etc., for this number only.

There will be an administration charge of € 100 per club.

Jim Drohan, Tournament Organiser.
Mobile : 087-6291136.

Email : jimdrohan@eircom.net


Cork Constitution have announced their Senior Squad for the coming season.
New players and their previous clubs are highlighted

Darragh Hurley (UCC),
Tim Ryan, Tom Ryan, Colm Murphy, Gareth Murray, Des Murray, Robert Quinn, Denis Fogarty, John Maloney, Kevin Coughlan, Shane O’Connor, David Kelly (Buccaneers), Emmet Cassidy, Billy Holland (UCC), Merle O’Connell, Brendan Cutriss, Frank Cogan, Ed Leamy, Brendan O’Connor (Galwegians), David Daly

Duncan Williams, David O’Leary, John Stringer, Alex Ryan, Darragh Lyons, Jeremy Manning (UCC), Peter Brougham (UCC), Evan Ryan (UCC), Tom Gleeson, Joe Cullen, Daniel Netherey, Ronan O’Donovan (Highfield), Andrew O’Brien, Richard Lane, Cronan Healy, Paul Hurley, Dermot O’Kane, Denis Hurley

Back row Merle O’Connell is the new Club Captain. Brian Walsh continues as Club Coach assisted by Terry Kingston. Kenny Murphy is the new 1st XV Manager. Peter O’Leary continues as Senior Selector.

The Club Officers for the coming season are

President: Jack O’Sullivan
Deputy President: Brian Ludgate
Junior Deputy President: Pat O’Keeffe
Honorary Secretary: Michael O’Gorman
Honorary Treasurer: Pat Twomey
Director of Rugby: Paul Derham
Senior Team Liaison: Ian O’Leary
Chairman of Mngt. Committee: Wally Morrissey
Press Relations Officer: John O’Mahony
Fixtures Secretary: Padraig Higgins
Youth Officer: Frank Doyle
Munster Branch Rep: Wally Morrissey & Greg Barrett
South Munster Branch Reps: Padraig Higgins & Peter Good


Membership for Killorglin Rugby Club has opened for the 2007/08 season. Killorglin RFC always welcomes new members, both playing and non-playing, to follow the ongoing development of the club as it has been promoted to Junior League 1 status this year. For a club that reformed only eight years ago, this is a great achievement. A full membership of the club costs €30, a family membership costs €50, and juvenile membership costs €10. The club would also like to meet anybody interested in under-age coaching. Anybody interested in becoming a member can contact club PRO Aidan Clifford at 0879065927, or alternatively leave a message with club secretary Madeline Foley (066) 9762102.
Senior Team training has begun for the pre-season. It takes place at 7pm every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at Killorglin Community College pitch on Langford Street. New faces are always welcome and the club is happy to introduce new players to the game of rugby.
Training of Juvenile teams will begin on Saturday, September 1st. We will also be having a registration day for juvenile teams on Saturday Sept 8th. All players are welcome to play.
Tag Rugby has also begun for this summer. It takes place every Tuesday evening at 7pm, in the Dragon’s Den All-weather pitch. This non-contact form of the sport is a fun way of staying fit, and offers a great social outlet also. Both men and women are invited to play.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...