DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

CBC Edge Out Ardscoil Rís To Secure Junior Cup Final Spot

27th February 2024 By The Editor

CBC Edge Out Ardscoil Rís To Secure Junior Cup Final Spot

A view of today's Munster Schools Boys Junior Cup semi-final. Photo Credit: Colbert O'Sullivan

CBC earned an 8-7 win over a determined Ardscoil Rís side at Virgin Media Park to progress to the final of this season’s Munster Schools Boys Junior Cup.

CBC had to come from 0-7 down to secure the win.

The Cork school will now meet the winners of tomorrow’s second semi-final which is between Bandon Grammar School and PBC.

Ardscoil Rís took the lead 10 minutes into the first half when Najim Jagana weaved his way through the CBC defence to get the opening try of the game. Out-half Jack Thorne notched the conversion to give the Limerick a 0-7 lead after some early pressure.

CBC responded by dominating possession and territory for the remainder of the first half but Ardscoil withstood that pressure before the Cork school opted to take three points from a penalty from Eamon O’Sullivan.

10 minutes into the second half CBC took the lead when loosehead Seán Fitzpatrick cantered over for his side’s opening try which gave CBC a 8-7 lead as O’Sullivan’s conversion drifted wide.

Ardscoil looked to have retaken the lead when a 50:22 from Jagana got the Limerick school into their opponent’s 22. Ardscoil went through the phases but strong defence from CBC saw Brian O’Loughlin held up over the line.

That was as close as Ardscoil got as CBC saw out the remainder of the game.

CBC: Eamon O’Sullivan; Rory Cullinane, Malachy O’Leary, James Martin, Thomas Nixon; Donal Barry, Dave O’Connell; Seán Fitzpatrick, Alexander Coakley, Michael Murray; Harry McCarthy, Joseph Neville; Sam Healy, Michael Quill, Riain O’Farrell.

Replacements: Danny Lynch, Adam Carroll, Ciarán Newcombe, Alex McDonald, Barry McGinn, Jack Dineen, Darragh Twomey, Cathal Walsh, Darren O’Connell, Donal O’Connor.

Ardscoil Rís: Najim Jagana; Oisin Healy, Dylan Quirke, Ryan McCormack, Daniel Curran; Jack Thorne, Louis O’Flanagan; David Geaney, Paul Oyedeji, Tom Maher; Cathal O’Doherty, Brian O’Loughlin; Marcus Glennon, Brendan Morrissey, Leo Carman.

Replacements: Samuel Golden, Thomas McNamara, Alex Higgins, Cormac O’Dwyer, Edmund Hillery, Paul Gleeson, Cian Cronin, Jamie Bell, George Barry, Charles Carey.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Bank of Ireland today announced a five-year extension of its main partnership agreement with Munster Rugby to run until 2028. The Bank has a long...