DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Winning Start For Munster Juniors

29th April 2023 By Leonard Allen

Winning Start For Munster Juniors

Munster's Eoin O'Sullivan celebrates ©INPHO

Munster began their defence of their Junior Interprovincial title with a fighting comeback at Tuam, where they defeated Connacht 24-17.

Playing into a strong wind in the opening half, Connacht dominated the exchanges and raced into a 17-0 lead after thirty minutes.  Winger Ronan O’Brien opened Munster’s account with a try just before halftime.

On the change over an early penalty by Shane Airey reduced the margin to 17-8. A try by Cathal O’Regan, converted by Airey closed the gap to two points.

Ten minutes from time Airey landed a penalty to put Munster ahead 18-17. Another penalty by Airey and one by Josef O’Connor gave Munster a seven point winning margin.

Munster now head to Inishowen RFC next week to face Ulster who lost to Leinster 42-27.

 Connacht: Henry O’Toole (Connemara RFC); Ross Murphy-Sweeney (Buccaneers RFC), Eoghan Coyle (Creggs RFC), Ian Murphy (Tuam RFC), Ethan Griffiths (Connemara RFC); Shane Purcell (Creggs RFC), Michael O’Toole (Captain), (Connemara RFC); Aidan Healy (Ballyhaunis RFC), Benjamin Hynes, (Sligo RFC), Ian Staunton (Connemara RFC); Rory Murphy (Ballinrobe RFC), Oisin Halpin (University of Galway RFC); Brian Diffney (Creggs RFC), Alan Finnerty (Tuam RFC), Fintan Crawley (Ballyhaunis RFC).

Replacements: Craig Hansberry (Ballinrobe RFC), Stephen O’Toole (Dunmore RFC), Eoin Sweeney (Tuam RFC), Tommy Mullin (Connemara RFC), Liam Robinson (Castlebar RFC), Ian Heanue (Connemara RFC), Barry Walsh (Castlebar RFC), Sean O’Grady (University of Galway RFC).
 Ben Twomey (Fermoy RFC); Eoin O’Sullivan (Kanturk RFC), Jack O’Connell (Crosshaven RFC), Craig O’Connell (Old Christians RFC), Ronan O’Brien (Kanturk RFC); Shane Airey (Newcastle West RFC), Rob Guerin (Newcastle West RFC); Noel Roche (Waterpark RFC), Cathal O’Regan (Clonakilty RFC), Jordan O’Donnell (Thomond RFC); Olan Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Adam Sheahan (Skibbereen RFC); Colin Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Ryain Ahern (Thomond RFC), Conor Horan (Waterpark RFC).

Replacements: Colin Slater (Thomond RFC), TJ Relihan (Newcastle West RFC), Stephen Hyland (St Mary’s RFC), Ciaran Vaughan (Kanturk RFC), Mark O’Connell (Kinsale RFC), Conor Kavanagh (Fethard & District RFC), Josef O’Connor (Fethard & District RFC), Jesse Smith (Charleville & District RFC).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Match Day Squad, sponsored by PwC, for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Wales at Virgin Media...