DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Wall To Captain Clovers At Virgin Media Park

13th January 2024 By The Editor

Dorothy Wall leads the Clovers.

Dorothy Wall leads the Clovers. Inpho

Clovers Head Coach Denis Fogarty has named his matchday squad for the third round Celtic Challenge match against Gwalia Lightning at Virgin Media Park on Sunday (1pm).

Match tickets are available here and the game will be streamed for free on RugbyPass TV.

Fogarty has made six changes to his starting squad as Dorothy Wall comes back into the second row to captain the side. A new half-back starting pair sees Abbie Salter-Townshend and Kate Flannery get their starts, Alana McInerney moves to centre with Clara Barrett on the wing as Meabh Deely starts in the full-back position.

Aoife Doyle makes her way back from injury as she come onto the bench, along with Aoife Fleming, Jane Clohessy, and Muirne Wall.

Commenting on the squad announcement, Fogarty said: “We were delighted to get our first win in the competition last weekend and will be aiming to do the same once again this Sunday at Virgin Media Park. We have had another competitive training week and competition for places in this squad has been high, that is where we want to be.

“It’s exciting to see all these young players performing each week and earning their places. I’m really looking forward to getting back to Cork and seeing another good team performance as we take on the challenge of Gwalia Lightning who are currently sitting top of the table.”

Clovers Team

15. Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)
14. Clara Barrett (UL Bohemian RFC/Connacht)
13. Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
12. Kayla Waldron (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
11. Clare Gorman (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
10. Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
9. Abbie Salter-Townshend (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
1. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
2. Beth Buttimer (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
3. Sadhbh McGrath (Cooke RFC/Ulster)
4. Ruth Campbell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
5. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster) (Captain)
6. Brianna Heylmann (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
7. Ivana Kiripati (Tuam-Oughterard/Connacht)
8. Shannon Touhey (Tullamore RFC/Connacht)


16. Aoife Fleming (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
17. Róisín Ormond (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
18. Eilís Cahill (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
19. Faith Oviawe (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
20. Jane Clohessy (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
21. Muirne Wall (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
22. Michelle O’Driscoll (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
23. Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC/Munster)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster Men's and Women's sides will be in action from August as the Women take part in the Vodafone Women's Interprovincial Championship and the...