DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Success in Schools Interprovincials

1st October 2008 By Munster Rugby

The Munster Schools U18s and U19s both recorded wins today in Dooradoyle as they defeated Connacht U18s and 19s in the first round of the Schools Interpro.

Schools U18: Munster 22 Connacht 0

A hat-trick of tries by winger Jurgen Quinlan highlighted Munster’s win in their opening game of the schools under 18 interprovincial championship at Dooradoyle today.

In a wind ruined contest the winger was man of the match with replacement James Rael scoring the fourth try. Rael went into the action fifteen minutes from the end as Munster emptied their bench in the final quarter. Centre Ben Sargent converted one of the four tries.

Referee, K Beggs, Leinster.

Munster Under 18: T Ryan, Cres College Comp, C O’Shea, Ard Scoil Ris, D Costello,Glenstal Abbey, B Sargent, Cres Comp,J Quinlan, Crescent Comp; G Quinn McDonagh, Crescent Comp, P Murray, Castletroy College; A O’Brien, St Munchin’s Colleges, K Stokes, CBC, (rep J Rael, Castletroy College 55 mins), I Mullarkey, (PBC); M Madden, St Munchin’s College, D O’Mahony, PBC; S Buckley, Rockwell, C Murphy, PBC, B Carroll, PBC.
Connacht: C Boland, Gallen Community School, F Ryan, Mount St Joseph’s College, R McMicken, Wilsons Hospital, T Leader, Mount St Josephs, E Gill, Davitt College; J Carty, Marist College, F Campbell, Col Iognaid; D Garvey, Col Sheosaimh, Galway, O Tierney, Colaiste Na Coirrbe, D Moloney, Gort Community School; S Wooton, St Geralds College, D Qualter, St Aloysius; D Heffernan, Blackrock College, A Spring, Sligo Grammar, E McKeon, Col Iognaid.

Schools U19: Munster 20 Connacht 13

Several of last season’s schools internationals were in action as the Munster under 19’s had to work hard to get the better of their Connacht rivals, also at Dooradoyle.

Craig O’Hanlon, Declan Browne and Bryan Cagney had tries for Munster with flyhalf Robert Guerin converting O’Hanlon’s try and also landing a penalty.

Connacht’s top player was outhalf Conor Murphy who converted a try by centre Finn Gormley.

Referee, J McNeice, Leinster.

Munster Under 19: C O’Hanlon, St Munchin’s, C O’Neill, St Munchins, B Smith, Rockwell, J Holland, CBC, G Ryan, Rockwell; R Guerin, St Munchin’s, D O’Driscoll, PBC; B Cagney, PBC, D Casey, Glenstal, B Cullinane, Rockwell; B Quill, Midleton, J Coyne, PBC; G Burke, St Munchin’s, J McCarthy, PBC, P Butler, Rockwell.
Connacht: R Kennedy, St Mels, C Conroy, Col Iognaid, E Griffin, do, F Gormley, do, K Russell, do; C Murphy, do., S O’Meara, do; D Henshaw, Marist, K Egan, St Calasanctius, J Robinson, Gort Community College; D Phelan, Col Iognaid, C Raferty, St Jarlath’s,; S Casey, St Geralds, S Conneely, Col Iognaid, S Connolly, St. Calasanctius.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are delighted to confirm the Ireland Women's team and the Ireland U20s return to Musgrave Park for the 2023 Six Nations with tickets...