DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Schools Cup Roundup

3rd February 2022 By The Editor

schools cup munster

A view of today's Munster Schools Junior Cup Round 2 match between Presentation Brothers College and Castletroy College

There was action in both the Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup and the Munster Schools Junior Cup this afternoon.

Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup Round 2 Replay – Rockwell College v Ardscoil Rís – Clanwilliam FC 2pm

Rockwell College 10 – 3 Ardscoil Rís 

Rockwell College have secured a meeting with Bandon Grammar School in the quarter-final of the Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup after the Tipperary school defeated Ardscoil Rís 10-3 in their Round 2 replay at Clanwilliam FC.

These two sides played out a dramatic 24-24 draw on the back-pitch of Thomond Park last week with the Limerick school getting a try with the clock in the red to ensure a replay.

Ardscoil took the lead this afternoon when Harry Long put his side in front with a penalty after 10 minutes of the first half. This is how it remained until the break as Ardscoil took a slender lead into the second half.

Just before the halfway point of the second-half, Rockwell took the lead through a Peter McGarry try. Kian O’Reilly’s conversion ensured the Tipperary school took a 7-3 lead into the last quarter of the game.

Rockwell went further ahead with a penalty from O’Reilly and that 10-3 scoreline remained until fulltime as Rockwell now look forward to a meeting with Bandon Grammar next week.

Rockwell College: Henry Buttimer, Conor Neville, Robert Wall, Oisin O’Dwyer, Zac O’Loughlin, Peter McGarry, Will Bermingham, Michael Richard Long, Dillon Crowley, Jamie Browne, Conor Bowen, Jack Ryan, Joseph Lawrence, Jock Fogarty, Brian Gleeson.

Replacements: Rory McKevitt, Osato Ediale, Ben Everard, Tom O’Dea, Alex Harold-Barry, Clement McAuliffe, Kian O’Reilly, Tadhg Carey, Toby Collier, Luca Fitzgerald.

Ardscoil Rís: Cian Noonan, Sam Brown, Paddy Hassett, Harry Long, Andrew Lyons, Mark Moloney, Evin Crowe, James O’Mara, Paul Gavin, Emmet Calvey, Jamie O’Mahony, Adam Shawyer, Scott Gleeson, Thomas Collins, Luke Murphy.

Replacements:  Aaron McNamara, Joe Costelloe, Killian McNamara, Matthew Danaher, Adam Kennedy, Alex Kennedy, Marcus O’Donoghue, Alan Fitzgerald, Joshua Dillon, Rory O’Gorman.

Munster Schools Junior Cup Round 2 – Presentation Brothers College v Castletroy College – Musgrave Park 1pm

Presentation Brothers College 18 – 0 Castletroy College

PBC have advanced to the semi-finals of this season’s Munster Schools Junior Cup after the Cork school edged out Castletroy College 18-0 this afternoon at Musgrave Park.

It took 13 minutes for PBC to open the scoring with Harry Murphy producing a fine kick against the wind to put his side in front.

Up until that point, PBC had a prolonged period of possession in the Castletroy 22 but a huge defensive effort from the Limerick school kept them out.

Castletroy had their chances in the first half, particularly when Liam Glynn produced a superb 50:22 to give his side a huge opportunity with a lineout just metres from the PBC line. However, the Limerick school were unable to take advantage.

PBC were almost in for the opening try of the game after 20 minutes but Evan O’Dowd was tap-tackled just short of the line.

The home side weren’t to be denied, however, as sustained pressure eventually produced an overlap as James O’Leary released Mark Hetherington for the opening try of the game.

The touchline conversion was wide as PBC took an 8-0 lead into the break.

The second half was similarly a tight affair but for all of Castletroy’s possession, they never seriously threatened the PBC line.

10 minutes from time, PBC extended their lead to 11-0 with a well struck Murphy penalty.

Just moments later, the Cork school put the result beyond doubt when James O’Leary powered through the Castletroy defence before producing a deft side step to take him past the last defender and over the line. Murphy’s conversion ensured an 18-0 win for PBC.

PBC now await the winners of Crescent College Comprehensive’s meeting with Rockwell College.

Presentation Brothers College: John Paul Curtin, Evan O’Dowd, Mark Hetherington, James O’Leary, Alastair Dunne, Harry Murphy, Ronan Byrd, Sean MacFarlane O’Shea, Liam Hegarty, Fionn O’Sullivan, Charlie Donnelly, Denis Murphy, Daniel Foley, Ben Foley, Rory Moloney.

Replacements: Diarmuid Sheehy, Ian Crowley, Stuart Gilbert, Paddy Walsh, Ruarc Porter, Frankie Óg Sheahan, Harry Murphy, Ronan Byrne, Deckie Fitzgerald, John Cashman.

Castletroy College: Robbie Widger, Sean Lyons, Liam Glynn, Joel Rowntree, Andrew Kearney, Bryan Toland, Chulainn Williams, Jack O’Gorman, Cian Kennedy, Jamie Conway, Ben Fogarty, Adam Dooley, Conal Purcell, Darragh McMahon, Aran Cregan.

Replacements: Cian O’Hanlan, Travis Tchokotieu, Trevor Tchokotieu, Adam Power, Jack Sheahan, James O’Malley, Alberto Henry Ramblado, Rowan Brady, James Rennison, Pierce Walter.

Upcoming Schools Cup Fixtures

Wednesday February 9th 

Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup Quarter-Final – Presentation Brothers College v St Munchin’s College  – Musgrave Park 2pm

Thursday February 10th 

Pinergy Munster Schools Senior Cup Quarter-Final – Bandon Grammar School v Rockwell College  – Musgrave Park 3pm


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...