DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Rugby Roundup

7th November 2021 By Leonard Allen

Provincial Rugby Roundup

Clonakilty recorded a 27-9 win over Crosshaven in the Munster Junior League. Credit: Dave Sheehan

As the first phase of the Munster Junior League passed the halfway stage, the battle is on for the top four positions in both Conference A and B with just three round of games remaining.

See full list of results here.

In Division 1 of the Munster Women’s League, Kerry beat Shannon-LIT 24-15 at Coonagh. Sinead O’Connor scored two tries for the Kerry side and Maura Collins and Vanessa Dineen got one each. Laoise O’Driscoll kicked two conversions.

In Division 2, Waterpark were 38-22 home winners over Bantry Bay. Alisha Flynn scored three tries for the Waterford side. Jane Rochford got two and Lana Hogan got one. Chloe Beukes kicked four conversions.

Back to the Munster Junior League, leaders Thomond lost pole position in Conference A, after their 25-12 defeat by Richmond at the Canal Bank.

Richmond got off to a great start racing into a 15-0 after fifteen minutes. Keelan Stephenson scored a try in the opening minute and Tadgh Bennett converted. Seven minutes later Stephenson was in again for his second try and Bennett added a penalty to make it 15-0. A try from Jordon O’Donovan converted by Adam Guerin brought the leaders back into the game in the 25th minute to leave Richmond leading 15-7 at half time. Thomond were reduced to fourteen players following a red card. Bennett extended Richmond’s lead with a penalty on 55 minutes and a try by James Reeves expertly converted by Bennett made it 25-7. Thomond did score a second try late in the game with Darragh O’Neill touching down.

Newcastle West are the new leaders in this section after their 64-0 home win over St. Senan’s. They ran in nine tries with Sean Corbett scoring three of them. James Kelly, Michael Bourke, Jason Woulfe, Davy Foley, Darragh Fox and Cian Mulcahy also scored tries. Charlie O’Doherty kicked eight conversions and a penalty.

Kilfeacle are level on points with Newcastle West after their 24-17 bonus point home win against Abbeyfeale. Rickey Witney, Diarmuid O’Donnell, Evan Breen and Kevin Doyle scored tries for Kilfeacle and Gavin Heuston kicked two conversions. Kieran McCarthy and Sean Kilbridge score tries for Abbeyfeale, with Kilbridge kicking two conversions and a penalty.

Clanwilliam are back in the hunt for a top four finish in this section after an impressive 24-12 home win over Galbally. Jack Quinlan scored two tries for the winners and Ben Downey and Niall Leahy got one each. Leahy added two conversions. Brendan Childs replied with a try for Galbally and Pat Shanahan converted and they were also awarded a penalty try.

In Conference B Bandon put in an excellent performance in defeating Muskerry 46-9 at Ballyanly. Josh Mahony, Ben Ridgeway, James Collins O’Brien, Jerry Crowley and Kerry Desmond were Bandon’s try scorers. Ridgeway added five conversions and two penalties. Rob Cahill replied with three penalties for the home side.

A late rally by Waterpark saw them score 12 points in the final minutes to defeat Old Christians 30-26 at Rathcooney to preserve their unbeaten run.  Alex Deegan and Paul Cotter scored first half tries for Waterpark and Willie Walsh kicked two penalties and a conversion to give the visitors an 18-5 half time lead. Oscar Clarke scored a try for Old Christians. John Purcell, Chris Hartnett and Conor Kiely added further tries with John Marnell converting all three to put the home side 26-18 ahead. Late tries from Colm Power and Paddy Kiersey and a Walsh conversion earned Waterpark maximum points.

Crosshaven’s challenge for a top four finish came unstuck at Clonakilty when they lost 27-9 to give the home side their first points of the campaign. Olan Deane and Aaron Hayes scored tries for Clonakilty and Mark Purcell kicked a conversion and five penalties.

Skibbereen caused a big upset at Mallow defeating the home side 16-10 in their basement clash. Jack O’Donnell kicked three penalties for Skibbereen who were also awarded a penalty try. Rory Murphy replied with a try for Mallow and Dave O’Sullivan kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Thurles continued their good run in Conference C, recording their third bonus point win after they defeated Ennis 51-8. Conor O’Hagan contributed two tries and three conversions for the winners and Luke Kelly, Rob O’Donovan, Eoin Dwyer, Paddy McGrath, Jack Kavanagh, Dylan Shaughnessy and Simon Quinlan also scored tries for the Tipperary side.

Fethard moved into second place after their 33-0 away win over Scariff ended the Clare side’s unbeaten start. Billy Shanahan, Paddy Gaynor, Kevin Hayes, Eoin Fitzgerald and Evan Looby scored tries for Fethard and Josef O’Connor kicked four conversions.

St. Mary’s defeated Dungarvan 15-8 at Grove Island with tries from Keith McManus and Gareth Moore. Jazz Pendejito added a conversion and a penalty. Jack Jacob replied with a try for the visitors and Michael Hayes kicked a penalty.

Ballincollig remain top of Conference D after their 25-7 away win at Cobh. Jason O’Connor, Liam McGarry and Matt Bourke scored tries for the winners and Shane Buckley kicked two conversions and two penalties. Conor McNamara was the Pirates try scorer and Alan Devine converted.

Fermoy moved up to second place after their narrow 17-14 home win over Kinsale. Eddie O’Connell, Peter Stapleton and PJ Lloyd scored tries for Fermoy and Ben Twomey kicked a conversion. Damian Kozik and Faelan Stewart replied with tries for Kinsale and Dylan Lacey converted both.

Charleville defeated Killorglin 12-5 at the Kerry venue. Eoin Carroll and Eoin McMahon scored tries for Charleville and Jessie Smith kicked a conversion. Fionn O’Shea earned the home side a losing bonus point with a late try.

Bantry Bay have gone top in Conference E after their 26-25 narrow win at Youghal. Aidan O’Sullivan scored two tries for the winners and Kevin Holland one. Sean McCarthy kicked a conversion and three penalties. Youghal replied with tries from Stephen Kelly, Killian Daly and Jack Monaghan. Daly kicked two conversions and Adam Malone added two penalties.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The venues for Ireland's 2024 Women's Six Nations fixtures have been confirmed, with Scott Bemand's side to play their home matches at The RDS, Musgrave...