DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

PBC Survive St Munchin’s Comeback To Reach Schools Senior Cup Final

22nd February 2023 By The Editor

PBC Survive St Munchin’s Comeback To Reach Schools Senior Cup Final

PBC’s Ben O'Connor is tackled ©INPHO

PBC survived a comeback from St Munchin’s College this afternoon in Musgrave Park to reach the final of this year’s Pinergy Munster Schools Boys Senior Cup final.

The Cork school raced into a 35-10 lead which they secured by the interval before the Limerick school scored three unanswered tries in the second half to leave just six points between the teams. Munchin’s were camped on the PBC line with the clock in the red but full-back Ben O’Connor managed to win a vital turnover to signal the end of the game on a scoreline of 35-29.

PBC got off to a blistering start as they scored the opening try of the game within the first minute. Winger Tom Coughlan broke through the St Munchin’s defence to sprint clear and score to the left of the posts. Ben O’Connor’s conversion was successful as the Cork school took an early 7-0 lead.

After the midway point of the first half, Gene O’Leary Kareem went over for PBC’s second try after a quick tap penalty put the Limerick school under pressure. PBC but the ball through the hands where O’Leary Kareem was on hand to glide through a gap and score. O’Connor’s difficult conversion attempt sailed through the posts to give PBC a 14-0 lead with over 10 minutes remaining in the first half.

Munchin’s got a much needed try and it was down to some individual brilliance from full-back Matthew Te Pou. The Munchin’s man chipped over the top of a PBC defender before controlling the ball on the volley to touch down in the corner. Cillian O’Connor’s conversion attempt from the touchline drifted wide as PBC’s lead was reduced to 14-5.

PBC hit back immediately when a 50:22 got them good field position. From the lineout maul, centre James O’Leary was able to power through some tackles to dot down. O’Connor was successful with his conversion attempt with the lead stretched to 21-5.

The entertainment continued when Munchin’s got another try back. This time Oisin Minogue was the one to use his strength as he powered through some tackle attempts to cross for his side’s second try. Unfortunately for the Limerick school, O’Connor’s conversion attempt drifted wide.

Just before half-time, PBC landed a sucker-punch as Fionn Roussel showed some good footwork to get around the Munchin’s defence to score his side’s fourth try. O’Connor was accurate from the tee once again as PBC’s lead now stood at 28-10.

The Cork school looked to have put the game to bed when off a scrum, O’Leary Kareem released O’Connor who ran a great line and his acceleration took him all the way for his side’s fifth try. The fullback converted his own try as the sides went into the break with the score at 35-10.

14 minutes into the second half, Munchin’s got their third try, this time it was Minogue who powered over from close range for his second of the day but O’Connor’s touchline conversion attempt was unsuccessful.

With 12 minutes remaining, Munchin’s got their fourth try. PBC were caught defensively from a quick-tap and Gordon Wood burst through a gap to touch down under the posts. O’Connor’s conversion reduced the deficit to 35-22.

Wood then went over for a second try soon after which was converted by with the score now at 35-29 with seven minutes remaining in the game.

With the clock in the red, Munchin’s were just inches out from the PBC line and looked destined to score but Ben O’Connor won a turnover at the breakdown to win a penalty and ensure his side’s passage to the final.

PBC will now meet the winners of Crescent College and CBC who must meet in Thomond Park next week in a replay after their semi-final finished 15-15 in Musgrave Park on Tuesday.

PBC: Ben O’Connor, James Wixted, Gene O’Leary Kareem, James O’Leary, Tom Coughlan, Harry Murphy, Liam Tuohy; Maurice Minogue, Michael O’Sullivan, Thomas McCarthy, Daniel Noonan, Cian Murphy, Fionn Roussel, Alexander Alderson, Rory O’Shaughnessy (c).

Replacements: Max Dillon, Peter Wall, George O’Keeffe, Alex Davenport, Oscar Squires, Daniel Foley, Oscar Nangle, Scott Kelleher, John Wigginton Barrett, Luke Sisk O’Mahony.

St. Munchin’s: Matthew Te Pou; Adam Cusack, Oisin Pepper, Gordon Wood, Tom Wood; Cillian O’Connor, Jake O’Riordan; Rían Burke, Peter Dougan, Tadhg O’Brien; Mark Walsh, Callum Black; Danny Williamson, Oisin Minogue, Liam Angermann.

Replacements: Ben Noonan, Sean Rice, Oskars Vitolins, Billy Power, Tommy O’Driscoll, Tony Foley, Rory McDermott, Conor McCarthy, David Keane, Azad Mohammed.

Referee: Frank Murphy

Elsewhere in schools cup action on Wednesday, St Anne’s Community College beat Ardscoil Mhuire 30-15 in the Munster Schools Girls Junior Cup while St Anne’s also won their Senior Cup clash against Sacred Heart Clonakilty 27-17. We will have a round-up of all the girls schools cup action later in the week.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News