DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Women’s Team Named For Barbarians Clash

29th September 2023 By The Editor

Munster Women’s Team Named For Barbarians Clash

Chisom Ugwueru ©INPHO

The Munster Women’s team has been named for Saturday’s historic clash with the Barbarian Women’s team at Thomond Park (2pm).

The match is part of a double-header with the Munster Men’s team taking on their Barbarian counterparts at 4.30pm.

Buy match tickets here.

Both matches will be streamed live on Access Munster here.

There are eight changes to the starting fifteen that lined out against Leinster in the Women’s Interprovincial Championship final at the start of this month.

There are three changes to the backline with Aoife Corey, Chisom Ugwueru and Kate Flannery coming into the side. Corey and Ugwueru start at full-back and wing with Stephanie Carroll taking the other spot on the wing. Stephanie Nunan and Alana McInerney continue their centre partnership while Flannery and Muirne Wall start at out-half and scrum-half.

There are four changes to the pack with Beth Buttimer, Eilís Cahill, Brianna Heylmann and Jane Clohessy coming into the side.

Buttimer and Cahill pack down in the front-row where they will be joined by Róisín Ormond. Captain Dorothy Wall and Clodagh O’Halloran continue their partnership at second-row while Heylmann, Clohessy and Chloe Pearse make up the back-row combination.

The forward cover is provided by Ciara Farell, Fiona Reidy, Gillian Coombes, Claire Bennett and Maeve Óg O’Leary.

Abbie Salter-Townshend, Aoife O’Shaughnessy and Aoife Doyle are the backline replacements.

Munster: Aoife Corey, Chisom Ugwueru, Alana McInerney, Stephanie Nunan, Stephanie Carroll; Kate Flannery, Muirne Wall; Róisín Ormond, Beth Buttimer, Eilís Cahill; Dorothy Wall (C), Clodagh O’Halloran; Brianna Heylmann, Jane Clohessy, Chloe Pearse.

Replacements: Ciara Farrell, Fiona Reidy, Gillian Coombes, Claire Bennett, Maeve Óg O’Leary, Abbie Salter-Townshend, Aoife O’Shaughnessy, Aoife Doyle.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Nine players will join the Munster Rugby senior squad this summer with four new additions and five players stepping up from the Academy. Thaakir Abrahams,...