DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster U20’s Defeated at Musgrave Park

10th September 2007 By Munster Rugby

A physical Leinster side caused some disruption the the Munster U20’s Interprovincial campaign by defeating the home side 19-9 in Musgrave Park on Saturday


The U20 interprovincial clash on Saturday was played in glorious sunshine at Musgrave Park, which provided for perfect pitch conditions and expansive rugby.

Munster had the better of the opening exchanges and were awarded a penalty after 11 minutes which was converted by Scott Deasy.

Munster continued to pressurise Leinster but on 21 minutes Leinster were awarded a penalty which was converted by their outhalf Martin Duffy.

Close to the half hour mark, Scott Deasy converted a penalty kick to go 6-3 in front following an offence by Leinster winger, David Kearney, who was yellow carded by referee, Michael Black.

Munster failed to take advantage of their numerical advance and on 39 minutes conceded a penalty 10 metres from their own line and the quick thinking Leinster outhalf put in a cross field kick for their full back, Niall Morris, to score. Martin Duffy converted.

Two minutes into the second half Munster’s Scott Deasy, slotted his third penalty leaving the score at 9 – 10. The Leinster outhalf converted penalties on the 50th and 64th minutes and a drop goal on the 53rd minute.

Munster camped themselves in the Leinster half for the final 15 minutes but turnovers at key times and in key positions prevented Munster breaching the Leinster try line.

With one win and one loss in this year’s competition, next Friday’s game against Ulster in Ravenhill at 7pm is of significant importance and a must win for Munster if they want to keep their championship hopes alive.

Alan Miller – Manager

Ian Costello – Head Coach

Hamish Adams – Assistant Coach

Raymond Egan – Fitness & Conditioning Coach

Scott Murphy – Physio

Ian Fleming – Kit Manager

Leonard Browne – Video Analyst


1 – John Ryan – UCC
2 – Michael Sherry – Garryowen
3 – Stephen Archer – UCC
4 – Ian Nagle – UCC
5 – David Foley – UL Bohemians
6 – Liam Murphy – Young Munster
7 – James O’Neill – Young Munster
8 – Kieran Essex – UL Bohemians
9 – Eoghan Kennedy – UCC
10 – Andrew Burke – Crescent
11 – John Verling – UL Bohemians
12 – Scott Deasy – UCC
13 – Murray Kinsella – UL Bohemians
14 – Sean Scanlon – UCC
15 – Richard Mullane – Shannon

Subs from;-
David Kilcoyne – UL Bohemians
Matthew Kearney – UCC
Noel Kinane – UL Bohemians
Jonathan Griffin – Young Munster
Pat O’Regan – UL Bohemians
Declan Cusack – Thomond
Diarmuid Upton – Young Munster
Mark Cosgrove – Thomond
Brian Derham – UCC


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster Men's and Women's sides will be in action from August as the Women take part in the Vodafone Women's Interprovincial Championship and the...