DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Team Named For Interpro Clash With Leinster

25th August 2023 By The Editor

Munster Team Named For Interpro Clash With Leinster

Stephanie Nunan ©INPHO

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship Round 3 clash with Leinster in Energia Park (KO 4.45pm, live on TG4).

Head Coach Niamh Briggs has made four changes to the starting XV which earned a 46-7 win over Connacht in Round 2 as Aoife Corey, Ellen Boylan, Claire Bennett and Jane Clohessy come into the starting side.

Corey returns to the matchday squad after starting for Munster in Round 1 against Ulster while Boylan and Clohessy are in line for their first starts for the province. Bennett will be making her first start of this season’s campaign.

The front-row remains unchanged as Róisín Ormond packs down alongside Ciara Farrell and Fiona Reidy. Captain Dorothy Wall continues in the second-row where she is joined by Claire Bennett.

The back-row consists of Jane Clohessy, Maeve Óg O’Leary and Deirbhile Nic a Bháird.

There is a settled look to the half-backs and centres with Muirne Wall and Kate Flannery partnering at scrum-half and out-half while Stephanie Nunan and Alana McInerney line out at inside-centre and outside-centre.

In the back-three, Stephanie Carroll keeps her place on the left wing while Ellen Boylan and Aoife Corey come into the side at right wing and full-back.

Eimear Considine and Aoife Doyle miss out this weekend due to minor knocks picked up in the win against Connacht.

Gillian Coombes returns to the matchday squad with a place on the bench while Nicole Cronin is in line to make her first appearance of this campaign having successfully recovered from a leg injury.

Aoibhe O’Flynn is in line for her debut from the bench.

Munster: Aoife Corey (UL Bohemian RFC); Ellen Boylan (Blackrock College RFC), Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian RFC), Stephanie Nunan (UL Bohemian RFC), Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union RFC); Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC), Muirne Wall (UL Bohemian RFC); Róisín Ormond (Ballincollig RFC), Ciara Farrell (UL Bohemian RFC), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian RFC); Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC) (C), Claire Bennett (UL Bohemian RFC); Jane Clohessy (UL Bohemian RFC), Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC), Deirbhile Nic a Bháird (Old Belvedere RFC).

Replacements: Beth Buttimer (Fethard RFC / Carrick-on-Suir RFC / Thurles RFC), Eilís Cahill (UL Bohemian RFC), Gillian Coombes (Ballincollig RFC), Clodagh O’Halloran (UL Bohemian RFC), Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian RFC), Abbie Salter-Townshend (UL Bohemian RFC), Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC), Aoibhe O’Flynn (UL Bohemian RFC).

Click here for the full Munster squad for this season’s Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship.

Press Pass | Leinster v Munster

Hear from assistant coach Fiona Hayes and prop Fiona Reidy ahead of Saturday’s Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship Round 3 clash against Leinster in Energia Park (4:45PM)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby can confirm that Antoine Frisch will depart for Toulon in the summer after two years at the province. Antoine has been a fantastic...