DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Junior Team Named For Ulster Clash

5th May 2023 By The Editor

Munster Junior Team Named For Ulster Clash

Munster taken on Ulster this weekend in the IRFU Men's Junior Interprovincial Championship ©INPHO

The Munster Junior team has been named for the IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 2 clash with Ulster on Saturday in Inishowen RFC (KO 2.30pm).

Munster got their campaign off to a winning start when they came from behind to defeat Connacht 24-17 in Tuam at the weekend.

There are four changes to the starting 15 from last time out.

Charleville & District RFC’s Jesse Smith, Waterpark RFC’s Willie Walsh, Kanturk RFC’s Ciaran Vaughan and St Mary’s RFC’s Ruarí O’Donnell all come into the side.

Waterpark RFC’s Noel Roche will captain the side from loosehead prop and Newcastle West’s Shane Airey, who starts at out-half, is vice-captain.

The coaching team for the Munster Juniors include Geoff Kenny as head coach and Robbie Doyle as backs coach. Tony Daly will act as team manager with Mike Calnan, James Neville and Christy McNamara as selectors. Paul McCarthy will be the squad’s physiotherapist.

After this weekend’s game, Munster will take on Leinster in Waterford City RFC in the final round on Saturday May 13th.

Please see the matchday squad below:

Munster Juniors: Jesse Smith (Charleville & District RFC), Eoin O’Sullivan (Kanturk RFC), Willie Walsh (Waterpark RFC), Craig O’Connell (Old Christians RFC), Ronan O’Brien (Kanturk RFC), Shane Airey (Newcastle West RFC) (VC), Rob Guerin (Newcastle West RFC); Noel Roche (Waterpark RFC) (C), Cathal O’Regan (Clonakilty RFC), Jordan O’Donnell (Thomond RFC), Ciaran Vaughan (Kanturk RFC), Ruarí O’Donnell (St. Mary’s RFC), Colin Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Ryain Ahern (Thomond RFC), Conor Horan (Waterpark RFC).

Replacements from: Colin Slater (Thomond RFC), TJ Relihan (Newcastle West RFC), Stephen Hyland (St Mary’s RFC), Olan Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Adam Sheehan (Skibbereen RFC), Mark O’Connell (Kinsale RFC), Conor Kavanagh (Fethard & District RFC), Josef O’Connor (Fethard & District RFC), James Collins O’Brien (Bandon RFC), Josh Brady (Bandon RFC), Ryan O’Connell (Old Christians RFC), Dave Shannon (Skibbereen RFC), Jake Madigan (Charleville & District RFC).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Match Day Squad, sponsored by PwC, for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Wales at Virgin Media...