DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Branch IRFU AGM

1st June 2007 By Munster Rugby

The Munster Branch IRFU AGM was held last night at the Clarion Hotel in Limerick, with Shannon’s Gerry O’Loughlin taking over the role of President for the new season.

2007/8 Munster Branch IRFU Officers:

President: Gerry O’Loughlin, Shannon RFC

Senior Vice President: Nicholas Comyn, Sunday’s Well RFC

Junior Vice President: Declan Madden, Garryowen FC

Hon. Treasurer: Jim Riordan, Old Crescent RFC

Hon. Secretary: Frank Byford, Sunday’s Well RFC

Immediate Past President: Ralph Murphy, Highfield RFC

With the redevelopment of Thomond Park currently underway, the Munster Branch IRFU AGM was held in the Clarion Hotel Limerick on Thursday night last.

Although the Heineken Cup eluded Munster this year, there were still plenty of positives to take from the 2006/7 season. The commencement of the redevelopment of Thomond Park has signalled a new era for Munster with a number of other initiatives also getting underway including the inaugural Munster Rugby Awards, the setting up of a supporters club in the USA, as well as the appointment of a Provincial Domestic Game Manager in the form of Ultan O’Callaghan. Honorary Secretary Frank Byford paid tribute to some of the on the field successes in his report, taking in the contribution of Munster players to the Triple Crown winning Irish team, the U20 Grand Slam as well as the Ireland A team, Ireland U21’s, U19’s, U18 Club team, Schools international side, Club International side and Women’s International side. He congratulated the Munster Junior team who captured the Interprovincial title after beating all three provinces and the Munster Schools A team who won the championship, as well as all other Munster representative sides who competed last season. In the AIL, Munster clubs dominated with Garryowen taking the Division One title, defeating Cork Constitution in a well contested final. In Division Two, Clonakilty and Young Munster finished in third and fourth place respectively, and Bruff took the Division Three title. Garryowen added to their silverware by claiming the AIB All Ireland Cup, with UCC winning the U20 All Ireland Cup.

Before handing over the reigns to Gerry O’Loughlin, outgoing President Ralph Murphy expressed his satisfaction and delight in his experiences over the last year saying "it was a great way to finish my term of service to rugby. It certainly was a non-stop year but I enjoyed every moment. While we didn’t retain the Heineken Cup we had huge success in using the Cup to promote the game in the province." Ralph thanked the efforts of Ian Fleming who brought to Cup all over the province and beyond. He thanked the supporters for their efforts in supporting the Munster team, and paid tribute to the winning clubs and teams in Munster- particularly Garryowen, as well as thanking all aspects and personnel of the Branch for their support. In finishing, he thanked his wife Celia and family for their support over the year.

Shannon’s Gerry O’Loughlin takes over the role of President after Bob McConkey was unable to go forward for health reasons. A former outhalf and fullback for Shannon, Gerry went through the ranks at the club until injury halted his career. As a coach, Gerry started at the grassroots in Shannon- coaching the underage, where he says "where children learn about life as well as rugby." He went onto coach schools rugby at Ard Scoil Ris while still very much involved in Shannon. He became Chairman of Shannon underage, then Honorary Secretary of the club and later Chairman of the club. Gerry’s contribution to the sport has continued into the area of rugby administration, where he served on the Domestic Game Committee last year and was Chairman of the First Division Clubs for two years. Looking ahead to his tenure as President, Gerry dedicated his year to Bob McConkey.

A number of changes were made to bye laws regarding the Munster Senior Challenge Cup, Junior Challenge Cup, Munster Senior League Club Championship. A motion was also passed regarding selection procedures in the Munster Association of Referees.

It was also announced that ODM Accountants are to sponsor the Munster Senior Challenge Cup for the third year running. The draw for next season’s competition also took place.

Election of Committee:
G. Malone, S. Clancy (Deputy), Bruff RFC
J. Downey, P. Mullen (Deputy), Clonakilty RFC
W. Morrissey, G. Barrett (Deputy), Cork Constitution FC
C. Fitzgerald, M. Magner (Deputy), Dolphin RFC
J. Gibson, W. Purcell (Deputy), Garryowen FC
M. Carroll, P. Scott (Deputy), Highfield RFC
D. Kelleher, B. Hurley (Deputy), Midleton RFC
D. Kennedy, R. O’Meara (Deputy), Nenagh Ormond
B. Nolan, P. Reddan (Deputy), Old Crescent RFC
T. O’Connor, (Deputy tbc), Shannon RFC
B. Keating, O. Allen (Deputy), Sunday’s Well RFC
J. Hartery, J. Fitzgerald (Deputy) Thomond RFC
M. O’ Sullivan, W. Hurley (Deputy), UL Bohemian RFC
D. Keohane, L. Martin (Deputy), UCC RFC
M. Keller, P. Power (Deputy), Waterpark RFC
G. Quaid, B. Collopy (Deputy), Young Munster RFC
B. O’Brien, E. O’Grady (Deputy), J. King, P. Griffin (Deputy), Junior Clubs North
M. Walsh, M. Keane (Deputy), J. O’Brien, J. Barry (Deputy), Junior Clubs South
G. Slattery, D. Philpott (Deputy), Schools Committee
D. Kelly, N. O’Keeffe (Deputy), Youth Committee
E. Tobin, E. Ryan (Deputy), Munster Association of Referees

2007-8 ODM Munster Senior Challenge Cup Draw

1st Round (week ending 22nd September)
Thomond v Sunday’s Well

2nd Round (week ending 29th September)
A Bruff v U.L. Bohemian
B Dolphin v Young Munster
C Old Crescent v Nenagh Ormond
D U.C.C. v Highfield
E Cork Constitution v Cobh Pirates
F Midleton v Garryowen
G Thomond/Sunday’s Well v Waterpark
H Clonakilty v Shannon

Quarter Finals (week ending 20th October)
I "G" v "C"
J "H" v "F"
K "D" v "B"
L "A" v "E"

Semi-Finals (week ending 24th November)
M "K" v "I"
N "L" v "J"

Final (week ending 29th December)
O "M" v "N"


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Musgrave Park will host the Ireland Women’s team again next year with the 2023 6 Nations home games against France and England taking place in...