DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Irish Colleges Record Away Victory

4th February 2008 By Munster Rugby

Irish Colleges Outmanouevere United Kingdom Combined Services In Style.

United Kingdom Combined Services Under 23’s 0 Irish Colleges 38

The memory of their defeat (34-17) by the Irish Colleges in the historical game at the Suttonians Club ,Sutton in 2007 ,prior to the full Ireland /England full International in Croke Park was very much in evidence in the vigour and enthusiasm shown by the UK Combined Services Under 23’s in this return match played at the London Irish Amateur Rugby club in Sunbury.

Although facing the particularly strong Combined Services forwards in the initial period of the game,Irish Colleges sustained the pressure and eventually wore down and overcame this powerful forward pack. Irish Colleges were awarded a successful penalty in the first 5 minutes taken by out half Phil De Barra .In the interim there was a testing period for both teams ,with the game accelerating at a ferocious pace until the 25 minute when Ian Cullinan scored a try which was converted by Phil De Barr.

Irish Colleges were awarded their second penalty in the 28minute leaving the score at the end of the first period at 13 -0.

In the second half the the fitter Irish Colleges forward line and team gradually overcame the Combined Services opposites with good ball going to a well organised and cohesive back-line.

Tries were scored in the 8 and 15 minutes by Paddy O Toole and Chris Napier,with Phil De Barra failing to convert.

Further tries were scored by a now rampant Irish side with Alex O Sullivan scoring in the 60 minute followed by a try by Hugh Hogan in the 65 minute and a second try byPaddy O Toole in the 75 minute leaving the final score at 38 to 0 for the Irish Colleges.

Irish Colleges
Ed Torrie (University of Limerick),Sean Carey (NUI Galway), Paddy O Toole (Garda College ), Daragh Fanning ( IT Tallagh), Phil DeBarr (IT Tallagh), Brendan O Brien (BlackhallPlace), ShaneCahill (DunLaoghaire VEC), Alex O Sullivan (IADT Dunlaoghaire), Stephen Snell (NCI), Barry Holmes (DIT), Christopher Naphier (Belfast Metropolitan College), Ian Cullinan (NU Galway), Dan Kenny (Dun Laoire VEC)

All replacements used: James Taggart, Richard O Neill, Jonathan Molloy, Brian Collins, Ben Reilly, Michael Mc Keever, Brian Moroney, Craig Morrin, Damien Carley

International Secretary Moss Dineen
Coaches Chris Galway, Eamonn Molloy

Combined Services
Wayne Duggan (Royal Air Force), Aaron Humphries (Royal Navy), Jamie Reid (Royal Navy), Karl Craven (Royal Airfoce), Loz Blackburn (Royal Navy), Phil Thomas (Royal Navy), Johnny Stephens
(Royal Navy), Kyle Mason (Royal Navy), Joe Avazian (Royal Airforce), Dean Chapman (Royal Navy), Mac Mc Cullough (Royal Navy), Will Crocker (Royal Airforce), Paul Bowen (Royal Airforce), Gareth Jones (Royal Navy)

J Coleman, Del Smith, John Pilkingham, Will Cairns, Ricky Ives, Ryan Cox, Aaron Hanson, Ben Donnelly, Andy Banks

Referee Steve Penfold (Army)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The teams have been named for this Friday’s clash between a Munster Development side and the Spain U20s at UL (2.30pm). The game will be...