DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

IRFU Volunteer Recognition Award Winners Honoured For 2023/24

1st March 2024 By The Editor

IRFU Volunteer Recognition Award Winners Honoured For 2023/24

Rockwell College's Polly Murphy receives her Volunteer Recognition award from IRFU President Greg Barrett. Photo Credit: IRFU

Over 45 rugby volunteers were nominated as valued volunteers for the 2023/24 season, as part of the IRFU Volunteer Recognition Awards.

The awards are an initiative to honour rugby volunteers and the values they uphold across the four provinces.

Clubs and schools were invited to recognise one volunteer, subject to appropriate safeguarding and vetting criteria. Some stand-out volunteers received duplicate votes from both their clubs and schools.

A volunteer from each province was also selected for special recognition by their branch at an official ceremony at the Aviva Stadium, where they were presented with their volunteer recognition awards by IRFU President Greg Barrett.

Polly Murphy (Munster) and Jim Moore (Connacht) were presented with their awards at the pre-match lunch ahead of the recent Ireland v Italy match. Conor Ryan (Leinster) and John Waide (Ulster) received their awards at the Ireland v Wales game last weekend.

The full list of IRFU Volunteer Recognition Award Nominees for 2023/24 are as follows:

Munster Clubs & Schools:

Theresa Hassey – Nenagh Ormond RFC
Jane O’Leary – Dolphin RFC
Liam Maher – Sunday’s Well RFC
Matthew (Matti) McCoy – Newcastle West RFC
Paddy Hurley – Skibbereen RFC
Owen Drummond – Cork Constitution RFC
Aidan O’Callaghan – Young Munster RFC
Brendan Mullan – CBS High School Clonmel
Sinead Twomey – Fermoy RFC
Eoin O’Shea – Midleton CBS
Ruth Murphy – Tralee RFC
Geoff Bates – Iveragh Eagles RFC
Polly Murphy – Rockwell College
Ger Moynihan – Killarney RFC
Micheal Hayes – Dunmanway RFC
Harry Kinsella – Mitchelstown RFC

Ulster Clubs & Schools:

Jamie Boyd – Dungannon RFC
Arnie McLean – Rainey RFC
John Waide – Ballymoney RFC
Simon Patterson – Lurgan RFC
Wendell Magwood – City of Armagh RFC
David Martin – Ballynahinch RFC

Connacht Clubs & Schools:

Caroline Place – Ballinrobe RFC
Shauna Kieran – Carrick-on-Shannon RFC
Jim Moore – Castlebar RFC

Leinster Clubs & Schools:

Helen Bolger – Good Counsel College
Claire Hughes – Holy Family Secondary School
Fosi Pala’amo – Oatlands College Rugby
Adam Malin – The High School
Lisa McGovern – De La Salle Palmerston FC
Conor Ryan – St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise
Conor Kiely – Ratoath RFC
Terry Farrelly – Roscrea RFC
Gerry Cruise – Old Belvedere RFC
Neal Murphy – MU Barnhall RFC
Noeleen Harrison – MU Barnhall RFC
Cormac O’Kelly – Terenure College RFC
Stellah Sinnott – Enniscorthy RFC
Pauline Marlowe – Longford RFC
Joanne Dwyer – Seapoint RFC


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of County Waterford Rugby Participation Officer. The post holder will work in partnership with local schools...