DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Griffin Leads Ireland Women In Six Nation’s Opener Against France

31st January 2018 By The Editor


Munster's Ciara Griffin is selected at Number 8 and will lead Ireland against France INPHO/CameraSport/Ashley Crowden

The Ireland Womens Team to play France in the Opening game of the 2018 Womens Nations has been named.

The Ireland Women’s Team to play France in the opening game of the 2018 Women’s Six Nations has been named.

Munster and UL Bohemian back-row, Ciara Griffin, captains the side from Number 8 as Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian) and Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian) are also selected in the pack, while Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian) is named at out-half.

Leah Lyons (Highfield) is included on the bench among the replacements.

Head Coach, Adam Griggs has named a new look side which includes one new cap in the starting XV.

Megan Williams, who has been previously capped at 7’s, has been named on the wing while the uncapped Laura Feely is named on the bench.

Kim Flood is named at full back with Alison Miller joining Williams on the wing. Claire McLaughlin and Sene Naoupu make up the centre partnership while Briggs is at out-half and Ailsa Hughes named scrum-half.

In the forwards, Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Reidy make up the front row with Ciara Cooney and Orla Fitzsimons named in the second row. Caplice and Claire Molloy will join Captain Griffin to complete the pack.

Speaking ahead of the clash, Griggs said, “The opening game of this tournament is always going to be a challenge and France in front of their home crowd is immense. However, the squad have had good preparation over the last 2 weeks and are excited and focused on the challenge at hand to start our campaign off with a positive performance.”

Tickets for the Ireland Women’s home games in Donnybrook are available now via www.ticketmaster.ie

The IRFU is offering a bus subsidy of up to 400 euro per club for private transport hire. For more information on the bus subsidy for the 2018 Women’s Six Nations, contact womensrugby@irfu.ie before purchasing tickets.

Ireland Women Team & Replacements (v France Women, 2018 Womens Six Nations Championship, Stade Ernst Wallon, Toulouse, Saturday, February 3, kick-off 9pm local time/8pm Irish time)
15 – Kim Flood (Railway Union/ Leinster)
14 – Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) *
13 – Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/ Ulster)
12 – Sene Naoupu (Railway Union/ Leinster)
11 – Alison Miller (Portloaise /Connacht)
10 – Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian / Munster)
9 – Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
1 – Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
2 – Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
3 – Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
4- Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
5 – Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
6 – Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)
8 – Ciara Griffin (Tralee/ Munster) Captain

16 – Leah Lyons (Highfield/ Munster)
17 – Laura Feely (Galweigians/ Connacht) *
18 – Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/ Connacht)
19 – Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/ Connacht)
20 – Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
21 – Mary Healy (Galwegians/ Connacht)
22 – Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/ Ulster)
23 – Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)

*denotes uncapped player at this level

Ireland Women’s Six Nations Fixtures 2018
Saturday 3rd February 2018
France Women v Ireland Women, 9pm (local) / 8pm (GMT), Stade Ernst Wallon, Toulouse

Sunday 11th February 2018
Ireland Women v Italy Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin

Sunday 25th February 2018
Ireland Women v Wales Women, 3pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin

Sunday 11th March 2018
Ireland Women v Scotland Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin

Friday 16th March 2016
England Women v Ireland Women, 5.30pm, Ricoh Arena, Coventry

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU