DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Junior Cup Quarter-Final Roundup

31st January 2018 By The Editor

Bandon Grammar secured their place in the semi-final

Bandon Grammar secured their place in the semi-final Tommy Dickson/INPHO

A total of three Cork schools completed the line-up for the semi-finals of the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Junior Cup with away victories.

PBC, Bandon Grammar and CBC have all joined St Munchin’s in the semi-final stage of the competition with ties set to take place during the week commencing 19 February.

Bandon Grammar caused the shock of the day in the quarter finals as they defeated Castletroy College 17-14 on the 4G pitch at the UL Arena with a dramatic last minute penalty.

The West Cork side will meet CBC at a Cork venue in the semi-final stage.

After a scoreless opening quarter, Kyle Buttimer broke the deadlock with a try for the West Cork side and Louis Archer converted from a difficult angle.

Jack Oliver opened the Limerick side’s account with a penalty on the stroke of half-time.

Evan O’Halloran put the Limerick side in the driving seat with an unconverted try early in the second-half.

This lead only lasted seven minutes as Chris Walton put Bandon Grammar back in the driving seat with a try which Archer converted.

Nesta Nyamakazi scored Castletroy’s second try, which Oliver converted to give their side a one-point advantage, before Archer slotted over a 27-metre penalty to ensure victory for the West Cork side with the last kick of the game.

Bandon Grammar: David Collis; Alan Blair, Craig Bateman, Liam McCarthy, Kyle Buttimer; Louis Archer, Jack Kevane; Conor Aherne, Harry Golden, Jack Applebe; Jack Walsh, Jerry Coughlan; Thomas Blennerhassett, Nick Greene, James O’Donovan.

Replacements: Mark Kingston, David Harte, Christopher Walton, Andrew Guinevan, Tom Good, Mateo Barthelemy, Chrion Obialor, Ignacio Tejera.

Castletroy College: Ronan Lyons; Mark Lyons, Sam Hanrahan, Reece Kelly, Evan O’Halloran; Paul Brennan, Jack Oliver; Nesta Nyamakazi, Paul O’Shea, Sean O’Shea; Samuel DanDikken, Rhys White; Conor O’Shea, Dylan McMahon, Jamie McNamara.

Replacements: Xavier Henry Ramblado, Oisin O’Shea, Moses Abewale, Kevin Morrissey, Mark Hickey, James Lammond, Cian Mulkern, Eoin O’Sullivan, Diromaluwa Lawal, Brian Murphy.

Referee: M Doyle (MAR).

In the first game on the 4G Pitch at the UL Arena, PBC proved too strong for Crescent College Comprehensive.

The Mardyke College will meet St Munchin’s College in the other semi-final at a Limerick venue.

Darragh French put PBC ahead with a try and a conversion within two minutes of the kick-off. Ben Comiskey and Daniel Squires added further tries in the second quarter to stretch the margin to 17 points.

Desmond Fitzgerald scored a try in the corner for the Limerick side, which was converted by Conal Henchy approaching the break.

Seven minutes after the interval, Daragh McSweeney barged over in the corner for the Mardyke College’s fourth try, before John Bourke responded with a try for Crescent, which was converted by Henchy.

French put the game beyond the Limerick side’s reach with a penalty, three minutes from time.

Crescent College Comprehensive: Ben Cosgrove; Elvis Duruji, John Lyons, Conal Henchy, Jamie Duggan; Eoghan O’Connor, Tom Barry; Eoghan Quinn, Luke Moloney, Adam Godfrey; Desmond Fitzgerald, Dean O’Grady; Aaron O’Sullivan, Patrick Dolphin, Jybril Basu.

Replacements: Oscar Oliszewski, Cian Hanrahan, John Bourke, Patrick Naughton, Alex O’Dwyer-Gough, Desmond O’Malley, Dylan Scanlan, Glen Kelly.

PBC: Daniel Squires; Timmy Ryan, Daniel Hurley, Ben Coburn, Ronan Wilson Darragh French, Liam Ormond; Ciaran O’Connor, Ben Comiskey, Bevan Forde; Ian O’Keeffe, Sam O’Sullivan; Patrick Campbell, Brian Anthony, Daragh McSweeney.

Replacements: Cian Desmond, Jacob O’Brien, Adam O’Brien, Conall Harrington, Charlie Coughlan, Mark Howell, Billy Kiernan, Casey Buckley, JJ O’Connor, John St Leger.

Referee: Paudie Sheehan (MAR).

Holders Christian Brothers College made it through to the last four with an 18-3 win over Rockwell College at Clanwilliam Park.

Daire Burke opened the scoring with a try for CBC and Rockwell replied with a penalty from Rory Collins to leave it 5-3 at half-time.

Andrew O’Mahony extended Christian’s lead with a try and George Coomber converted. Two penalties by Coomber completed the scoring as Christians advanced.

Rockwell: Tom Tobin; Darius Achimugu, Sam Tarleton, Michael Mulligan, Robert Wall; Rory Collins, Adam Maher; Jack Heffernan, Cathal Ryan, Matthew Burke; Luke Fogarty, Charlie Shanahan; Brian Gleeson, Dean Fanning, Adam Buttimer.

Replacements: Cathal Ryan, Tom Downey, Mikey Bergin, Tom Ross, Niall Maher, Caseyjay Coleman, Henry Buttimer, Alex Cronin.

CBC: George Coomber; Jack McGrath, Daire Burke, Patrick O’Hara, Ben McGarry; Andrew O’Mahony, Eoin Birchall; Alan McDonald, Luke McAuliffe, Corey Hanlon; Mark Ludgate, James Morrisson; Patrick McBarron; Kevin Roche, Dylan O’Connor, Ronan O’Sullivan.

Replacements: Luke Buckley, Wanfred Waterman, Gavin Kennelly, Kevin Roche, Jason Ahern, Tom McCarthy, Marcus Corcoran, David McPolin.

Referee: Eoghan Cross (MAR).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The venues for Ireland's 2024 Women's Six Nations fixtures have been confirmed, with Scott Bemand's side to play their home matches at The RDS, Musgrave...