DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Garryowen Advance To BOI Senior Challenge Cup Final

23rd October 2021 By Leonard Allen

Senior Challenge Cup

Garryowen's Jamie Heuston INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Garryowen booked their place in the Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup Final with a hard-earned 33-21 win over Cashel in a thrilling Cup tie at Dooradoyle.

The game was in the balance with seven minutes remaining as Cashel held a 21-19 lead, but late tries from Colm Quilligan and Jamie Heuston both converted by Heuston helped the Light Blues over the line.

The opening half was evenly balanced with Garryowen leading 13-11 at half time with a try from Hugh O’Brien Cunningham and two penalties from Heuston to a try by Ben Murray and two Steve McMahon penalties.

Robin Foot scored Cashel’s second try and McMahon added a penalty, as man of the match Heuston kicked a drop goal and a penalty to setup the dramatic finish.

Blocking Garryowen winning their 39th title will be either Highfield or Young Munster who meet in the other semi-final in December.

Garryowen: Jamie Shanahan; Colm Quilligan, Hugh O’ Brien Cunningham, Jack Delaney, Alexander Wood; Jamie Heuston, Aaron Cosgrove; Niall Horan, Pat O’Toole, Darragh McCarthy; Tim Ferguson, Roy Whelan; Jonathon Keane, Jack Madden, Sean Rennison.

Replacements: Larry Kelly, Michael Veale, Scott Leahy, Rob Guerin, Edmond Barry, Bryan Fitzgerald, Daniel Feasey.

Cashel: Cian Mullane; Richard Kingston, Alan McMahon, Ben Murray, Steve McMahon; Darragh Lyons, Josh Pickering; Cathal Ryan, Robin Foot, Jonathan Blair; Richard Moran, Idris Rqibi; Brendan Crosse, Aidan Butler, Mikey Wilson.

Replacements: Thomas Allen, Niall Fitzgerald, Liam Shine, Kieran Gleeson, Ben Blackford, Oisin Ó Súilleanhán, Michael Hickey.

Referee: Shane Kierans (MAR).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Match Day Squad, sponsored by PwC, for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Wales at Virgin Media...