DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Garryowen Are Munster Junior Cup Champions

30th April 2023 By Leonard Allen

Garryowen win Junior Cup

Osama Farage scores a try for Garryowen. INPHO/Ben Brady

A big surprise in the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup Final at Takumi Park, as Garryowen lifted the trophy for the ninth time with a 16-12 victory over Kilfeacle.

Colm Quilligan gave Garryowen the lead with an early penalty, but Kilfeacle hit back with a try from Keith Bourke, which Luke Heuston converted.

Garryowen regained the lead on thirty minutes with a try by David Murphy, but Jack McLaughlin got in for Kilfeacle’s second try on the stroke of halftime for a 12-8 lead.

Quilligan reduced the deficit to a point with a penalty six minutes into the second half, and on fifty-two minutes Sam Farage put Garryowen ahead 17-12 with a try.

In a nail-biting finish, Garryowen’s defence stood firm as Kilfeacle did everything to save the game.

Kilfeacle: Kevin Doyle; Killian Noonan, Darren Lowry, Keith Bourke, Jack Armshaw; Gavin Heuston, Luke Heuston; Simon Barry, Richard Whitney, Diarmuid O’Donnell; Darragh Kennedy, Cormac Ryan;  Jack McLaughlin, Brian Barlow, Bryan McLaughlin.

Replacements: James Ryan, Tom Doyle, Bob Purcell, Rian Doody, John Bourke.

Garryowen: Keith Ellis; David Murphy, Sam Hanrahan, Tommy O’Hora, Osama Farage; Colm Quilligan, Edmond Barry; Ben O’Sullivan, Larry Kelly, James Jones;  Kevin Seymour, Scott Leahy; Richard Costello, Dean Fanning, Tim Ferguson.

Replacements: Dan Geoghegan, Rhys Whyte O’Malley, Patrick Naughton, Thomas Barry, Aidan Dwyer.

Referee: Stuart Donaldson (MAR).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his matchday squad for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Italy at Virgin Media Park (7.15pm). Match tickets...