DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

CBC Secure Win Over Bandon Grammar In Munster Schools Boys Junior Cup

18th January 2023 By The Editor

CBC Secure Win Over Bandon Grammar In Munster Schools Boys Junior Cup

CBC progressed to the next round of the Munster Schools Boys Junior Cup thanks to a 33-12 win over Bandon Grammar School at a bitterly cold Musgrave Park this afternoon.

Bandon Grammar dominated the early part of the game but CBC winger Peter Horan capitalised on a loose pass to run clear from the halfway line and score the game’s opening try to the left of the posts. Caleb McKinnie’s conversion went to the right and wide.

Bandon Grammar responded with a try of their own as Bill O’Driscoll powered over from close range. Conor Smyth’s conversion put the Cork school 5-7 in front. However CBC scored two more tries to round off the first half, the first coming from Jack O’Callaghan.

The Cork schools took a 19-7 lead into half-time but it was Bandon who struck first in the second half when Michael Kennedy crossed in the corner. The touchline conversion was unsuccessful as CBC’s lead was now reduced to 19-12.

CBC hit back straight away with a try from Keelan Manley which Conor Mulvihill converted and they scored another try just before full-time through O’Callaghan again which was converted by Mulvihill to leave the Cork school with a 33-12 win.

CBC will now meet Crescent College Comprehensive in the second round.

CBC: James Martin, Rory Cullinane, Malachy O’Leary, Tom Hannon, Peter Horan, Conor Mulvihill, Caleb McKinnie; Keelan Manley, Charlie O’Callaghan, Ian Sexton, Robert O’Sullivan, Michael Manning, Evan Collins, Jack O’Callaghan, Michael Trant.

Replacements: Alexander Coakley, Conor Quirke, Ciaran Wallace, David Mac Coitir, Sam Healy, Evan Kilbride, Christopher Taylor, Matthew Keenan, Cathal Walsh, Samuel Haberlin.

Bandon Grammar School: Lewis Linehan, Aaron White, Michael Kennedy, David Fuller, Edward Baker, Conor Smyth, Sam Barry; Bill O’Driscoll, Zach Piper, Jack Deasy, James Kane, Sean Dooley, Alex Hunter, jack Good, Sean O’Callaghan.

Replacements: Jonas van der Velde, Adam Barry, Scott Brady, Joseph Clover, Finn McCarthy, Matthew O’Regan, Brian McLaughlin, Oliver Williams, Sean Lynch, Patrick McFadden.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Bank of Ireland today announced a five-year extension of its main partnership agreement with Munster Rugby to run until 2028. The Bank has a long...