DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

CBC Claim Last Semi Final Spot

21st February 2008 By Munster Rugby

Christian Brothers College captured the last semi final place in the Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup on Thursday with a 15-0 win over Rockwell College at Musgrave Park

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup Quarter Final
Christian Brothers College 15-0 Rockwell College

Christian Brothers College claimed the last semi final place of this year’s Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup scoring 15 unanswered points against Rockwell College. The win sets them up for a semi final clash against Castletroy in Limerick on March 5th, with Crescent College Comprehensive and Presentation Brothers College set to meet in the other semi final on the same day.

It was a lively beginning to this quarter final game, with CBC getting on the board after 4 minutes with a penalty kicked by full back Darragh McNamara. Rockwell had the opportunity to level the scoring 6 minutes later, however out half Conor Holland’s effort from the 22 didn’t find its mark. There were early indications of CBC showing plenty of pace out wide, with winger Michael Ryan, and centres Cian O’Halloran and Kevin Slater looking dangerous from the outset. Some great defensive work by Rockwell No. 8 Stephen Maguire saved a certain try close to the 20 minute mark, however the sustained pressure by CBC eventually saw them capitalize on an overlap out wide and with a try in the corner after 21 minutes from winger Michael Ryan, scoring his third try in this year’s competition. Despite missing the conversion, CBC took an 8-0 lead with half time approaching. Rockwell were dealt a major blow with the loss of their No. 8 Stephen Maguire after 27 minutes, however industrious prop Cian O’Donnell led the Rockwell pack in trying to gain a foothold into the game.

After the restart, CBC kept play deep inside the Rockwell half, and after ten minutes of sustained pressure, CBC’s No. 8 Dylan Stokes stormed over for a try which McNamara converted to take CBC 15-0 ahead. CBC looked to dominate all over the pitch, with Rockwell having difficulties getting their hands on any kind of prolonged possession. Despite their best efforts, continuing to battle until the very end of the game, Rockwell were unable to make any inroads into the scoreline. The score remained as it had been since the 42nd minute, with CBC claiming a 15-0 victory.

Quarter Finals- Round One
Glenstal Abbey School 13-8 Rockwell College (aet)
Crescent College Comprehensive 3-12 Castletroy College
St. Munchin’s College 5-8 Presentation Brothers College
Christian Brothers College 17-7 Ardscoil Ris

Round Two
Presentation Brothers College 23-8 Ardscoil Ris
Glenstal Abbey School 7-22 Crescent College Comprehensive
Castletroy College 10-8 St. Munchin’s College
Christian Brothers College 15-0 Rockwell College

Semi Finals
Wed 5th March 2008
Crescent College Comprehensive v Presentation Brothers College – LIMERICK
Castletroy College v Christian Brothers College – LIMERICK

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup Final
12th March 2008

Christian Brothers College
15. Darragh McNamara, 14. Andrew Joyce, 13. Kevin Slater (Captain), 12. Cian O’Halloran, 11. Michael Ryan, 10. Brendan Monahan, 9. Charlie O’Regan, 1. Charlie Slowey, 2. Mark Kennedy, 3. Kiefer O’Sullivan, 4. Robert O’Dowling, 5. Ciaran Keogh, 6. Conor Scannell, 7. Dean Nolan, 8. Dylan Stokes
Replacements: C. Barry for O’Halloran (54), J. McCarthy for Joyce (54), K. Moynihan for O’Sullivan (58), D. Ryan for Scannell (58), J. Corbett for O’Regan (60), D. Philpott for Kennedy (60), J. Cronin for McNamara (60)

Rockwell College
15. Conor O’Sullivan, 14. Robert Breedy, 13. Andrew Wallace, 12. Darren Brennan, 11. Jack Reilly, 10. Conor Holland, 9. David Hannigan, 1. Cian O’Donnell, 2. Billy Duggan, 3. Odhran McCarthy, 4. MJ Murphy, 5. Sonny Dwyer, 6. Richard Moran, 7. Mark Cummins, 8. Stephan A. Maguire
Replacements: Brian Moloney for Maguire (27), Liam Cummins for McCarthy (45), Brian Haugh for O’Sullivan (45), Paudge Bolger for Duggan (54), Ryan Murtagh for Murphy (54), Colman Kennedy for Holland (54), Andrew Pierce for Hannigan (54)

Referee: Declan Browne (MAR)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The teams have been named for this Friday’s clash between a Munster Development side and the Spain U20s at UL (2.30pm). The game will be...