DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup Quarter Finals

7th February 2007 By Munster Rugby

Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup Quarter Finals

Presentations Brothers College and Crescent College Comprehensive have booked their Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup semi final places after wins over Rockwell College and Ard Scoil Ris respectively

Presentation Brothers College 13-0 Rockwell College
(Musgrave Park)

Ard Scoil Ris 7-9 Crescent College Comprehensive
(Thomond Park)

Presentation Brothers College and Crescent College Comprehensive are set to meet in one semi final of this year’s Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup, after coming through their respective quarter final clashes on Wednesday. PBC had a 13-0 win over a tough Rockwell College side in Musgrave Park, while Crescent College Comprehensive had a 9-7 win over Ard Scoil Ris in Thomond Park.

With a swirling wind and intermittent showers at Musgrave Park, PBC and Rockwell College fought a tough game in poor conditions. Rockwell suffered an early blow when PBC’s Ireland U19 Scott Deasy crossed the line after Rockwell full back Shane Luby’s clearance kick was blocked down and collected by Deasy who crossed the line to put PBC ahead. Deasy’s conversion gave them a seven point lead, and signalled the influence that the PBC outhalf was to have on this game. While PBC enjoyed plenty of possession in the opening quarter, Rockwell’s dogged defence kept the Cork side at bay. Rockwell settled and came into the game more in the second quarter, with their outhalf Conor Sweeney kicking for territory and attempting to put PBC on the back foot. Unfortunately, a malfunctioning lineout thwarted much of their attacking game and they were forced to feed off scraps. While Deasy missed a penalty after 25 minutes, his opposite number made a terrific break shortly before half time that brought play from halfway to well inside the PBC 22. While the ball was turned over in the breakdown, Rockwell’s pacy backline, which included Munster U19 winger Willie Devane, hinted at their capabilities in the phase. Deasy missed an opportunity to add another three points to his tally on the 40 minute mark, however he made no mistake a minute later when he slotted over the penalty to give PBC a 10-0 lead at the break. As conditions deteriorated and playing under lights for the second half, Rockwell’s lineout didn’t improve, and PBC camped well inside the Rockwell half. However, the Rockwell defence was superb throughout, and they countered wave after wave of attack with tremendous work at the breakdown. PBC were held up on the line after 64 minutes of play, however Rockwell’s fate was sealed 5 minutes later when Deasy slotted over a penalty to put PBC 13-0 ahead. While Scott Deasy was supremely in control throughout, creating a solid attacking platform, PBC prop Peter Kelleher and second row Mike Kenefick displayed a tremendous work rate. All credit to Rockwell College who competed at every element of the game. Captain Ian Duffy playing at second row led from the front, with winger Gavin Ryan ever threatening- as was Willie Devane and full back Shane Luby.

Conditions were not much better in Thomond Park as Ard Scoil Ris and Crescent College Comprehensive competed in a well contested game for a semi final place. Crescent College got the upper hand in the first half with two penalties from Ian Cross, deputising for their injured kicker Andrew Burke, putting them 6-0 ahead at the break. However, Ard Scoil Ris came back at Crescent College Comprehensive in the second half, despite playing with only 13 players at one stage due to having two players yellow carded. The Crescent defence held until Ard Scoil Ris took the lead midway during the second half after prop James Burton crossed the line, with Dave O’ Leary converting to put them 7-6 ahead. Cross’ third successful penalty kick for Crescent College put them in front once again, with Ard Scoil Ris missing the opportunity to reclaim the lead late in the game when a penalty drifted wide. Crescent College held on for a hard fought victory and now are set to play PBC in the semi final.

Quarter Finals
Thursday 8th February
St. Munchin’s College v Castletroy College, Dooradoyle, 3pm

Saturday 10th February
Glenstal Abbey School v CBC, Clanwilliam, 3pm.

Semi Finals
Tuesday, 6th March 2007
Glenstal Abbey School/CBC v St. Munchin’s College/Castletroy College, 3pm, Venue TBA.

Wednesday, 7th March 2007
PBC v Crescent College Comprehensive, 3pm, Venue TBA.

Monday 19th March 2007

Rockwell College
15. Shane Luby, 14. Gavin Ryan, 13. Andrew Joyce, 12. Willie Devane, 11. Andrew O’ Leary, 10. Conor Sweeney, 9. Patrick Houlihan, 1. Michael Kelly, 2. John O’ Kelly, 3. Jerry O’ Brien., 4. Ian Duffy (Captain), 5. Michael Crosse, 6. Martin Feehan, 7. Patrick Butler, 8. James Ryan
Brendan Cullinane for Jerry O’ Brien (43), Edward Kelly for Patrick Butler (48), Brian Silke for Andrew O’ Leary (48), Alex O’ Mahony for Patrick Houlihan (62), Derry O’ Neill for Michael Kelly (70)

15. Gavin Nugent, 14. Johnny McCarthy, 13. Alec Rose, 12. Barry Kelleher, 11. Simon Zebo, 10. Scott Deasy (Captain), 9. David O’ Driscoll, 1. Peter Kelleher, 2. Ronan Corkery, 3. Robbie Darmody, 4. Darren Tuohy, 5. Mike Kenefick, 6. Niall Barry, 7. Brian O’ Hara, 8. Peter O’ Mahony
Joe Coyne for Ronan Corkery (50), Theo Cullinane for Johnny McCarthy (57), Like Dockry for Simon Zebo (70), Dan Lucey for Darren Tuohy (70), Cormac O’ Flynn for Scott Deasy (75)

Referee: Trevor Collins (MAR)

Crescent College Comprehensive
15. Eoin O’ Toole, 14. Finbarr Aherne, 13. Ian Cross, 12. Owen O’ Riordan, 11. Mark Doyle, 10. Sean Scanlon, 9. Diarmuid Upton, 1. Kieran Finlayson, 2. Jack Corrigan, 3. Stephen Hennigar, 4. Ken Hanley, 5. Aaron McCloskey, 6. Pat Kinevane (William Cuddy 45), 7. Eoin Ryan, 8. Darren Mulcair

Ard Scoil Ris
15. Declan O’ Rahilly, 14. Stuart Lipper, 13. Paul Gleeson, 12. Niall McGrath, 11. John Noonan, 10. Dave O’ Leary, 9. Mark Rowley, 1. Dave Kilcoyne, 2. David Twomey (Captain), 3. James Burton, 4. James Flood, 5. Gerard Layden, 6. Barry Sheehan, 7. Jayme Keogh, 8. John Deegan
Senan O’ Sullivan for Declan O’ Rahilly (40), Ger Moore for Jayme Keogh (63)

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (MAR)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...