DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Nominees For The Irish Rugby Players Awards Announced

1st May 2019 By The Editor

Peter O

Peter O'Mahony and Tadhg Beirne are among the nominees.

The Irish Rugby Players Awards will take place on Wednesday, May 15, at the Clayton Hotel in Ballsbridge.

In contention for the much sought-after Players’ Player of the Year Award are four Irish internationals who have all excelled for their country and respective provinces this season.

Munster’s Tadhg Beirne and Peter O’Mahony are among the nominees for the award. Both players were instrumental in Munster’s run to the Champions Cup semi-final and the Guinness PRO14 Final Series.

Connacht’s Jack Carty and Leinster’s James Ryan complete the nominees.

Ryan has also been nominated for the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year Award. As with last year, he joins Jordan Larmour (Leinster) and Jacob Stockdale (Ulster) on the shortlist. Alongside Keith Earls, Larmour and Stockdale also supply some outstanding efforts to contest the Try of the Year Award.

There were several standout performers in the running for the Women’s XV Player of the Year Award, as voted by the players involved over the last 12 months.

Munster captain Ciara Griffin, Munster winger Eimear Considine and Mallow native Anna Caplice, formerly of Munster and now at Richmond RFC, are in contention for the award.

The Women’s 7s Player of the Year will also be awarded on the night, with previous winners Lucy Mulhall (2018) and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (2016 & 2017) included on the shortlist alongside Kerry native Louise Galvin.

A new award will also see the Men’s 7s Player of the Year recognised. Jordan Conroy, Terry Kennedy and Adam Leavy are this year’s nominees with some standout performances leading to Ireland’s qualification to the World Series.

The Vodafone Medal for Excellence will be awarded to the individual who has shown exceptional commitment to the game of rugby both on and off the field. Nominated by their peers this year are Darren Cave (Ulster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) and James Tracy (Leinster).

Award Nominees

Players’ Player of the Year

Tadhg Beirne (Munster)

Jack Carty (Connacht)

Peter O’Mahony (Munster)

James Ryan (Leinster)

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year

Jordan Larmour (Leinster)

James Ryan (Leinster)

Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)

Try of the Year

Keith Earls (Ireland v France – Guinness Six Nations)

Jordan Larmour (Ireland v Italy #3 – The Rugby Weekend, Chicago)

Jacob Stockdale (Ireland v New Zealand – Guinness November Series)

Supporters’ Player of the Year

Will Addison (Ulster

Tadhg Beirne (Munster)

Jack Carty (Connacht)

Cian Healy (Leinster)

James Lowe (Leinster)

James Ryan (Leinster)

Women’s XV’s Player of the Year

Anna Caplice (Richmond RFC)

Eimear Considine (Munster)

Ciara Griffin (Munster)

Vodafone Medal For Excellence

Darren Cave (Ulster)

Rhys Ruddock (Leinster)

James Tracy (Leinster)

Women’s 7s Player of the Year

Louise Galvin

Lucy Mulhall

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe

Men’s 7s Player of the Year

Jordan Conroy

Terry Kennedy

Adam Leavy


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby and the IRFU are pleased to confirm the signing of 25-year-old back three player Thaakir Abrahams on a two-year deal. An extremely fast...