DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Women’s Squad Named For Interpro Opener

29th November 2017 By The Editor

Munster Women’s Squad Named For Interpro Opener

Siobhan McCarthy starts in the back row for Munster

The Munster Women’s squad, sponsored by Keane’s jewellers, has been named for their Interprovincial opener against Connacht at the Sportsground on Saturday (2.30pm).

Tralee’s Siobhan Fleming captains the side with seven clubs represented as 11 UL Bohemians players are included in the starting XV with four players set to make their Interpro debuts.

Valerie Power starts at full-back with Laura O’Mahony and Syphonia Pua, who will make her Interpro bow after featuring against the Barbarians last month, on the wings.

Niamh Kavanagh and Aine Staunton start in the centre with Rachel Allen making her Interpro debut at out-half as Ellen Murphy starts at scrum-half.

Vastly experienced trio Fiona Hayes, Gillian Bourke and Fiona Reidy make up the front row.

Siobhan McCarthy, who will also make her Interpro debut, and Chloe Pearse are named in the second row with Edel Murphy, Fleming and Ciara Griffin in the back row.

Replacement Linda McNamara is set to get her first taste of Interpro action as Leah Lyons, Maura Collins, Zoe Grattage, Roisin Ormond, Anna Caplice, Christine Arthurs and Laura Sheehan complete the bench.

Munster host Ulster in Garryowen FC in their first home Interpro game on Saturday, December 9, at 3pm. The campaign will be rounded off against Leinster at Thomond Park on Saturday, December 16, at 2.30pm.

Munster: Valerie Power (Shannon); Laura O’Mahony (UL Bohemian), Aine Staunton (UL Bohemian), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian), Syphonia Pua (UL Bohemian)*; Rachel Allen (UL Bohemian)*, Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere); Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemian), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemian), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian); Siobhan McCarthy (Railway Union)*, Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian); Edel Murphy (UL Bohemian), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee) (C), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian).

Replacements: Leah Lyons (Highfield), Maura Collins (Tralee), Zoe Grattage (Highfield), Roisin Ormond (Ballincollig), Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian), Christine Arthurs (Highfield), Laura Sheehan (Highfield), Linda McNamara (Highfield)*.

*Denotes uncapped at senior Interprovincial level.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of Talent Squads Athletic Development Coach. The post holder is responsible for assisting with the design,...