DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - NO STATS - Match Information

Report | Leinster Edge Out Munster In Women’s Interpros

August 26, 2023 7:41 pm By The Editor

Report | Leinster Edge Out Munster In Women’s Interpros

Munster celebrate after Dorothy Wall scores her side’s second try of the match ©INPHO

Munster will meet Leinster in next weekend’s Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship final after Tania Rosser’s side edged out Munster 26-19 in Donnybrook this evening.

Munster’s two bonus-point wins before this third round clash guaranteed a place in the final with Leinster needing to win to secure their spot in the decider.

Leinster started well with territory in the Munster half and an offside infringement gave Leinster’s Hannah O’Connor an opportunity to kick three points but her effort dropped short and Munster cleared.

Niamh Briggs side’s produced a huge maul effort which marched Leinster back into their own half and it was from the resulting penalty advantage that Munster put it through the hands where Maeve Óg O’Leary was on hand to produce a strong fend and power through a gap to score under the posts.

Flannery’s conversion ensured a 0-7 lead after 10 minutes.

Leinster responded well when 10 minutes later, Lisa Callan crashed over from close-range after a good bit of defensive work from Munster on their own line. Hannah O’Connor converted for Leinster to level the game.

Just past the midway point of the first half, Leinster took the lead when Tania Rosser’s side put the ball through the hands where Aimee Clarke was able to use her pace to score in the corner. O’Connor’s conversion was unsuccessful as Leinster took a 12-7 lead.

Munster’s maul was a weapon throughout the first-half and they used it to good effect to get back in the game as a powerful drive saw captain Dorothy Wall get Munster’s second try.

Flannery’s conversion from the touchline was just wide as the game was levelled with less than 10 minutes remaining in the first half.

Munster came close on two occasions at the end of the first half to go back into the lead but a knock-on from Munster saw the referee blow for half-time with the teams level.

With 10 minutes played of the second-half, Leinster took the lead when Linda Djougang powered over from a metre out. Dannah O’Brien’s conversion put Leinster 19-12 in front.

A try from Ruth Campbell extended Leinster’s lead after some good work from Aoife Dalton sent the second-row racing clear for thee bonus-pointy. O’Brien’s conversion put Leinster 26-12 in front with 20 minutes remaining in the match.

Munster responded well with prolonged periods of possession and territory and it was Wall who got her side back into the game with an important try from close-range. Nicole Cronin, making her first appearance of this season’s Interpros, nailed the tricky conversion to put just seven points between the teams.

Munster continued to push for a try which could level the game but Leinster defended well and saw out the match in Munster’s half.

The sides will meet again next week in the final of this season’s Women’s Interprovincial Championship.

Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship Round 3 Round-Up

Leinster’s Aoife Dalton was awarded the Vodafone Player of the Match

Aoibhe O’Flynn made her senior Munster debut this evening.

Munster and Leinster will meet again in the final in Musgrave Park next Saturday at 4.45pm.

Tries | Lisa Callan, Aimee Clarke, Linda Djougang, Ruth Campbell

Conversions | Hannah O’Connor, Dannah O’Brien (x2)

Tries | Maeve Óg O’Leary, Dorothy Wall (x2)

Conversions | Kate Flannery, Nicole Cronin

Leinster: Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Wicklow RFC), Aimee Clarke (Railway Union RFC), Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere RFC/Tullamore RFC), Leah Tarpey (Railway Union RFC/Tullamore RFC), Anna Doyle (Tullow RFC/Blackrock College RFC), Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC), Katie Whelan (Old Belvedere RFC/Enniscorthy RFC); Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC), Lisa Callan (Old Belvedere RFC), Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/St. Mary’s College RFC), Ruth Campbell (MU Barnhall/Naas RFC), Eimear Corri (Blackrock College RFC/Portlaoise RFC), Aoife Wafer (Blackrock College RFC/Enniscorthy RFC), Molly Boyne (Railway Union RFC/Dublin University FC), Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/CYM RFC) (C).

Replacements: Caoimhe Molloy (Wicklow RFC/Blackrock College RFC), Aoife Moore (Blackrock College RFC/St. Mary’s College RFC), Sarah Delaney (PortDara RFC), Katelynn Doran (MU Barnhall/Cill Dara RFC), Sene Taiti-Fanene (Exeter Chiefs/Old Belvedere RFC), Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC/Tullamore RFC), Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere RFC/Tullow RFC), Elise O Byrne-White (Old Belvedere RFC/Dublin University FC).

Munster: Aoife Corey (UL Bohemian RFC); Ellen Boylan (Blackrock College RFC) (O’Flynn 70′), Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian RFC), Stephanie Nunan (UL Bohemian RFC), Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union RFC); Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC) (Cronin 50′), Muirne Wall (UL Bohemian RFC) (Salter-Townshend 70′); Róisín Ormond (Ballincollig RFC), Ciara Farrell (UL Bohemian RFC), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian RFC) (Cahill 30′); Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC) (C), Claire Bennett (UL Bohemian RFC) (O’Halloran 40′); Jane Clohessy (UL Bohemian RFC) (Pearse 40′), Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC), Deirbhile Nic a Bháird (Old Belvedere RFC).

Replacements: Beth Buttimer (Fethard RFC / Carrick-on-Suir RFC / Thurles RFC), Eilís Cahill (UL Bohemian RFC), Gillian Coombes (Ballincollig RFC), Clodagh O’Halloran (UL Bohemian RFC), Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian RFC), Abbie Salter-Townshend (UL Bohemian RFC), Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC), Aoibhe O’Flynn (UL Bohemian RFC).