DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Weekend Rugby Roundup

7th May 2023 By Leonard Allen

Weekend Rugby Roundup

Shannon players celebrate at the final whistle ©INPHO

Both Shannon and U.L. Bohemian retained their current status in the All Ireland League with home victories in the play-off finals, Muster lost away to Ulster in the Junior Inter-Provincials, while Richmond qualified for the final of the Junior Clubs Challenge Cup, as Kerry shocked U.L. Bohemians second side to win the Women’s Divisional Cup Final.

Munster made the long journey to Carndonagh in Co. Donegal to play Ulster in their second game in the Junior Inter-Provincial series, but the holders had to play second best as they lost 27-10.

Most of the damage was done in the opening half as Ulster held a 20-10 lead at halftime. Paul Armstrong, Conor Phillips, and Callum Foreman scored tries for the home side and David Maxwell kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Munster replied with a try by Ciaran Vaughan and a conversion and penalty by Shane Airey.

The only score in the second half was a second try by Armstrong for Ulster, which Maxwell converted.

Munster complete their campaign next Saturday with a home game against Leinster at Waterford City’s ground in Kilbarry.

Ulster: Adam McDonald (Dromore RFC); Connor Phillips (Cooke RFC), Paul Armstrong (Clogher Valley RFC), Nathan Burns (CIYMS RFC), Ewan Haire (Clogher Valley RFC); David Maxwell (Clogher Valley RFC), Gerard Treanor (Monaghan RFC);
Kieran Donaghy (Lurgan RFC), Matthew Coulter (Ballyclare RFC), Neil Henderson (Clogher Valley RFC); Toby Mannus (Cooke RFC), Callum Foreman (Cooke RFC); David Stinson (Clogher Valley RFC), Ben Riley (Limavady RFC), Stephen Corr (City of Derry RFC).

Replacements: Malcolm Allister (Monaghan RFC), Angus Cunningham (Lurgan RFC), Ian Moxen (Cooke RFC), Will Scott (Ballymoney RFC), Reuben McCreery (Lurgan RFC), Davey Graham (City of Derry RFC), Charlie Williamson (Lurgan RFC), Stuart Wightman(Lisburn RFC).

Munster: Jesse Smith (Charleville & District RFC); Eoin O’Sullivan (Kanturk RFC), Willie Walsh (Waterpark RFC), Craig O’Connell (Old Christians RFC), Ronan O’Brien (Kanturk RFC); Shane Airey (Newcastle West RFC), Rob Guerin (Newcastle West RFC); Noel Roche (Waterpark RFC), Cathal O’Regan (Clonakilty RFC), Jordan O’Donnell (Thomond RFC); Ciaran Vaughan (Kanturk RFC), Ruarí O’Donnell (St. Mary’s RFC); Colin Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Ryain Ahern (Thomond RFC), Conor Horan (Waterpark RFC).

Replacements: Colin Slater (Thomond RFC), TJ Relihan (Newcastle West RFC), Stephen Hyland (St Mary’s RFC), Olan Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Adam Sheehan (Skibbereen RFC), Mark O’Connell (Kinsale RFC), Conor Kavanagh (Fethard & District RFC), Josef O’Connor (Fethard & District RFC).

In the All Ireland League Play-offs, Shannon defeated Highfield 32-12 on the back pitch in Thomond Park to retain their Division 1A status. Highfield had the best of the exchanges in the opening half leading 12-10 at the interval, thanks to four penalties by James Taylor. Michael Cooke replied with a try, a conversion, and a penalty for he Limerick side. Shannon were in complete control after the break with Josh Costello scoring two tries and Luke Rigney one. Cooke kicked two conversions and a penalty.

U.L. Bohemian retained their Division 2A status with a hard-fought 20-16 victory against Dungannon at Annacotty. Harry Byrne opened the scoring with a penalty for U.L. Bohs , but the visitors hit back to lead 16-3. However, a late rally saw “The Robins” get a try from Alan Kiely and a second from a maul following a lineout with Byrne converting both. A second penalty by Byrne saw U.L. Bohemian ensure their safety for another season.

Skerries defeated Bruff 30-15 at Holmpatrick to win promotion to Division 2B. Sean Kilbridge opened the scoring for Bruff with a penalty, but a penalty, try, and conversion by Ronan Mulcahy saw Skerries take control. A Paul O’Loughlin try converted by Mulcahy extended the home side’s advantage. Tom O’Dwyer replied with a Bruff try and Kilbridge added the extras. Two penalties by Mulcahy gave Skerries 23-10 halftime lead. Shane Duggan closed the gap with a try for Bruff, but a Peter O’Neill try converted by Mulcahy ensured promotion for the Dublin side.

Richmond reached the final of the Munster Junior Clubs Final with a 45-31 win away to Kilfeacle. Nigel Clancy and James Reeves scored two tries each for Richmond, with Jeffrey McNamara and Brian Mullins getting one apiece. Tadhg Bennett kicked six conversions and a penalty. Kilfeacle replied with tries from Bobby Purcell, Rian Doody, Ben White, Tom Fogarty, and Shane Farrell. Luke Heuston kicked three conversions. Richmond will now face Newcastle West in next week’s decider in Charleville.

U.L. Bohemian came unstuck in Tralee when Kerry defeated them 26-24 in a closely contested Munster Women’s Divisional Cup Final. Joanne Daey scored two tries for Kerry and Emily O’Regan, and Maria Harnett got one each. Louise O’Driscoll converted three of the tries.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of Talent Squads Athletic Development Coach. The post holder is responsible for assisting with the design,...