DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Weekend Rugby Roundup

19th March 2023 By Leonard Allen

Weekend Rugby Roundup

Castleisland defeated Killarney 11-10 in Tralee to win the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Bowl trophy. Photo Credit: Castleisland RFC Facebook

Skibbereen advanced in the Women’s All-Ireland Junior Cup with a big home win against Westport, as five Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup ties were decided over the weekend, along with Youghal qualifying for the Division 1 Munster Junior League playoffs, and Castleisland lifted the Munster Junior Bowl.

Skibbereen proved too strong for Westport in the inaugural Women’s All Ireland Junior Cup with a facile 61-5 home win. The winners led 25-0 at halftime. Kate O’Sullivan, and Sharon Stoutt each scored two tries for the winners, and Averyl Condell, Jasmine Kiely, Fiona Love, Emma Connolly, Mollie O’Connell, and Sinead O’Donovan got one each. Connolly kicked four conversions and a penalty.

A dramatic last-minute try by John Hurley converted by John O’Sullivan earned Shannon a 20-17 win at Coonagh against Newcastle West in the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup. Paul Curtis was Shannon’s other try scorer and O’Sullivan converted and also added two penalties. Sean Murphy, Keelan Headd, and Jason Woulfe replied with tries for Newcastle West and Alex O’Halloran added one conversion.

Tralee caused the shock of the day with a 17-14 away win at Waterpark. Cillian O’Riordan and Robbie Murphy scored tries for Tralee and Seamus Lyne converted both and also added a penalty. Harry Jephson and Willie Walsh replied with tries for Waterpark. Willie Walsh and Dermot Lannen each added a conversion. Tralee will now be away to Galbally-Mitchelstown next week in the next round.

Richmond advanced with a 34-21 home win over Kanturk. Kealan Stephenson scored two tries for the winners and Eoin Daly, Jeffrey McNamara, and Shane Hanlon got one each. Tadgh Bennett kicked three conversions and a penalty. Shane McAuliffe replied with two tries for Kanturk and Ronan O’Brien got one. Sean O’Brien converted all three tries. Richmond now travel to Skibbereen in the next round.

Kilfeacle advanced to the quarter-finals with a 32-20 away win at Abbeyfeale. Gavin Heuston, Kevin Kinane, Bobby Purcell, Cillian Noonan, and Peter Burke scored tries for Kilfeacle. Luke Heuston kicked two conversions and a penalty. Corey Keogh, Dan Leahy, and Jamie O’Sullivan replied with tries for Abbeyfeale, and Sean Kilbridge kicked a conversion and a penalty.

UCC proved too strong for Thurles at the Mardyke with a 50-5 victory. Tom McCarthy, Mike Cogan, Dave O’Halloran, Matt O’Callaghan, Stephen Lynch, Mark Deane, Timmy Duggan, and Scott Sexton were the students’ try scorers. Billy Kiernan kicked five conversions. Eamonn Connolly scored a try for Thurles.

Youghal booked their place in the Munster Junior League Division 1 playoffs with a 17-8 away win at Fermoy. Kevin Yellop and Alan Frahill O’Connor scored tries for Youghal and Jonathan Ormond converted both and also added a penalty. Dylan Foley replied with a try for Fermoy and Peter Finn kicked a penalty.

Castleisland defeated Killarney 11-10 in Tralee to win the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Bowl trophy. Mike Cronin scored Castleisland’s try and Joe Sheehy added two penalties. Broghan Edmonds replied with a try for Killarney and Donnachda Grealy converted and also kicked a penalty.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are delighted with today’s announcement of an additional Large Scale Sports Infrastructure Grant allocation of €1.2m for the Cork Centre of Excellence at...