DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Provincial Rugby Roundup

10th December 2023 By Leonard Allen

Provincial Rugby Roundup

Skibbereen earned an 18-13 win over Kanturk in the Munster Junior League. Photo Credit: Skibbereen RFC

With six of the scheduled games postponed in Junior competitions, Thomond are the new leaders in Division 1 of the Munster Junior League.

Three of the Division 1 games were postponed, two because of the weather and the other as a result of an unplayable pitch.

Thomond have opened up a five point gap at the top of the table with their sixth bonus point victory of the campaign, as they defeated Clanwilliam 38-0 with tries from Aidan Quinlivan, Luke Fitzgerald, Luke Costelloe, Gary Bateman, and Cian Gorey. Evan Cusack added four conversions.

Muskerry continued their good run with a 17-14 away win at Thurles. The hosts led 14-7 at half time with tries from Luke Kelly, and Eoghan O’Dwyer with James Maher converting both. Cathal Dennehy and Frank Hogan replied with tries for Muskerry and Rob Cahill converted both and also added a penalty.

Clonakilty defeated bottom side Charleville 48-0 with tries from Conor Hayes, Matthew McCarthy, Eoin Downey, Kieran Howlin, Olan Deane, Ben Lovell, and Jim Twomey. They were also awarded a penalty try. Downey added three conversions.

A second half rally by Skibbereen saw them defeat Kanturk at the Duhallow venue 18-13. Daniel Kingston and Adam Sheehan scored tries for Skibb’. David Shannon added a conversion and a penalty, and Daniel Kitson kicked a penalty. Matt Daly and Dylan Moynihan replied with tries for Kanturk, and James Moylan added a penalty.

In Division 2 all the top three sides won. Kinsale had to battle all the way for a 13-6 away win at Galbally against Galbally-Mitchelstown. Ben O’Donnell and Mark O’Connell scored tries for Kinsale and Dylan Lacey kicked a penalty. The home side replied with two penalties from Pa Shanahan.

St. Mary’s maintained their unbeaten run with a 45-5 home win against struggling Ballincollig. Ian Cullen, Ger Glancy, Rob Guerin, Aaron Nunan (2), and Craig Duggan were the Saints try scorers, and they were also awarded a penalty try. Paul Loughran kicked four conversions.

Crosshaven defeated Youghal 49-0. Michael Collins and  Fergal Conway each scored two tries, and Graham Smith, Harry O’Connell, Jack O’Connell, Anthony Sheehan and James Burke were their other try scorers. Jack O’Connell kicked two conversions.

St. Senan’s kept their challenge alive with a 15-13 home win against Cobh Pirates. Berto Kelly and Gareth Airey scored tries for Senan’s and Craig Airey kicked a conversion and a penalty. Jack Worrell and Adam Devine replied with tries for Cobh, and Michael White added a penalty.

Waterpark eased their relegation worries with a 27-5 home win against Tralee. Paddy Kiersy, Cormac Kinsella, Emmet O’Shea, and Dermot Lannon scored tries for Waterpark. Willie Walsh kicked two conversions and a penalty. Kieran Cunningham replied with a try for Tralee.

Fethard got back to winning ways with an 8-7 away win at Abbeyfeale, thanks to a last minute penalty from Peter Wall. Phillip Ivors scored Fethard’s try, and Abbeyfeale replied with a try by Donagh Maher which Jamie O’Sullivan converted.

Castleisland booked their place in the semi-final of the Martin O’Sullivan Cup after their 20-15 win away to Ardscoil Old Boys after extra time. Adam Jensen, Kevin Lenihan, and John Bell scored tries for Castleisland. Joe Sheehy added a penalty and a conversion. Darragh Dineen, and Darragh Farragher replied with tries for Ardscoil. Niall McGrath kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Killorglin booked a trip to Killarney next week after their 24-3 away win at Scariff. James Frahill gave Scariff an early lead with a penalty, but three tries from Harry Forrest and one by Barry Sheehan, along with two conversions by Luke O’Shea saw Killorglin advance.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of Talent Squads Athletic Development Coach. The post holder is responsible for assisting with the design,...