DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Senior Women’s Training Kicks Off

24th July 2008 By Munster Rugby

Munster Senior Women’s Training Kicks Off

The selection process is complete and the 08/09 Munster Rugby Women’s Squad has been selected.

Following two open trial sessions held in Fermoy RFC, on Saturday July 12th and Sunday July 20th, the Munster Women’s squad was decided. Training now commences for this year’s Interprovincial Series which kicks off on the 13th of September away to Ulster.

Coaches Donal O’Driscoll and Fiona Steed were assisted by Munster’s Elite Developement Officer Ken O’Connell and Munster’s Senior Fitness Coach Paul Darbyshire at the open trial sessions.

Over sixty girls attended the open-trials, with representation from the majority of the women’s sides in Munster, including UL Bohemians, Clonmel, Highfield, Ballincollig, Waterpark, Youghal, Clanwilliam, Mallow, Nenagh and Kinsale.

A squad of thirty was then selected, as they came together for the first time last night, when Regional Development Officer John Lacey presented a workshop on the new experimental law variations.

Women’s Regional Development Officer Gemma Crowley, who was present at each of the sessions, commented, "The strength and growth in women’s rugby in Munster is highlighted by the skill and commitment levels shown at these open-sessions. The competition and success at club level throughout the province means there are more girls than ever contending for the same positions."

Munster Women’s Squad 08/09
Nicola Ahern (Highfield), Marie Barrett (Ballincollig), Louise Beamish (UL Bohs), Helen Brosnan (Highfield), Clara Bracken (Waterpark), Niamh Briggs (Clonmel), Orla Buckley (Waterpark), Gillian Burke (UL Bohs), Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohs), Anna Caplis (Mallow), Sarajane Cody (UL Bohs), Gemma Crowley (Ballincollig), Chris Fanning (Highfield), Nicole Fitzgerald (UL Bohs), Sinead Fitzpatrick (Waterpark), Jetty Feighrey (UL Bohs), Catherine Hogan (Waterpark/Clanwilliam*ds), Heather McLaughlin (Highfield), Carol Murphy (UL Bohs), Teresa Nolan (Ballincollig), Joy Neville (UL Bohs), Jo O’Meara (Waterpark), Frances O’Keefe (Highfield), Heather O’Brien (TBC), Natasha O’Keeffe (Clonmel), Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel), Eimear O’Sullivan (Ballincollig), Deirdre Scannell (Ballincollig), Liz Tye (Kinsale), Sandra Williams (Nenagh), Fran Whooley (Ballincollig)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...