DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster and Leinster Meet Again

17th December 2007 By Munster Rugby

Munster and Leinster Meet Again

Monkstown F.C. will be the venue on Tuesday 18th December (1.30 PM ko) for the Treasury Holdings Irish Colleges Inter Provincial Final which sees Munster and Leinster competing for the title.

Both Munster and Leinster have each accumulated three Provincial titles since this important competition in student rugby was inaugurated eight years ago.

Leinster Colleges had a convincing win 36-15 over Ulster Colleges while Munster Colleges laboured 13-8 over a well organized Connacht Colleges team in the semi final games in November.

This is the first Interprovincial final for new sponsors ‘Treasury Holdings’ the international real estate company headquartered in Dublin.

It can be said that the success of this competition in the Irish Colleges Rugby calendar mirrors the rugby development strategy of both IRFU and I.C.R.U. at 3rd level. While many of the players of both provinces are experienced club players, the competition provides a continuity of playing experience particularly for rugby playing students who are studying and living away from home.

The Garda College remains an important nursery for budding players and administrators. Their players are less prominent now than in bygone days when they made a substantial contribution in numbers to provincial teams. Could it have anything to do with the requirement that in past years, trainee gardai needed to have a height in excess of six foot!

Both Garda College players today -John Gilmartin and Dave Barry -are playing in the second row for the Munster province and are often in competition for this position. John at 6ft 5 ins and from Limerick plied his rugby with Young Munster and is currently on the second stage of his training in Bandon Garda station.

Dave from Cork, an Old Christian’s stalwart and a first year student will take up a position as a student Garda in Clonmel in the New Year.
Irish Colleges selectors will certainly be busy on the 18th December as they have their first representative match on Friday28th December against Ireland U19’s. This game is scheduled for Malahide at 2pm.

The Irish Colleges travel to London in February to play the Combined Services, with a game against the Scottish Universities scheduled for the University of Ulster on Friday 22nd February. The Irish Colleges will return to London for a game against English Students on Friday 14th March 2008 in London.

Munster Team
15. Niall Horgan, Colaiste Stiofán Naofa/Sunday’s Well
14. David Joyce, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark
13. Ciaran Naughton, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark
12. Richard O’Sullivan, Tralee Institute of Technology/Douglas
11. Alan Mackessy, Cork Institute of Technology/Cork Constitution
10. Aidan Tobin, Cork Institute of Technology/Old Christians
9. Paddy Hyland, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark
1. Alan Guiry (Capt), Limerick Institute of Technology/Nenagh Ormond
2. Keith Mathiasz, Limerick Institute of Technology/ Young Munster
3. Liam O’Casey, University of Limerick/UL Bohs
4. Dave Barry, Garda College/Old Christians
5. John Gilmartin, Garda College/Young Munster
6. Paul Murphy, Cork Institute of Technology/Waterpark
7. Stephen Melbourne, Limerick Institute of Technology/Garryowen
8. Adrian Hanley, Garda College/Buccaneers

16. Anthony Walsh, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark
17. Keith Roche, Cork Institute of Technology/Highfield
18. Darren Twomey, Colaiste Stiofain Naofa/Dolphin
19. Andrew Lynch, Waterford Institute of Technology, Waterpark
20. Michael Dillane, Cork Institute of Technology/Highfield
21. David Copeland, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark
21. Kieran Hyland, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark
22. Kieran Howlin, Waterford Institute of Technology/Waterpark

Leinster Team
15. Phil Barra, IT Carlow/DLSP
14. David Rowan, IADT/Blackrock
13. Craig Morrin, IT Tallaght/ St. Mary’s
12. Mick O’Shea, Garda College/Suttonians
11. Darragh Fanning, IT Tallaght/St. Mary’s
10. Brian Collins, IT Blanchardstown/ Old Belvedere
9. Khris Green, CDVEC/St. Mary’s
1. Stephen Snell, NCI/Greystones
2. Alex O Sullivan, IADT/Greystones
3. Jonathan Molloy, ITT/St. Marys
4. Damien Carley, IT Carlow/Co. Carlow
5. John Wallace, NCI/Old Wesley
6. John Downey, DLVEC/Greystones
7. Donagh O’Shea, IT Carlow/Lansdowne
8. Hugh Hogan, Griffith College/St Marys

16. Shane Cahill
17. Joe Gorman
18. Dan Kenny
19. John Dever
20. Robert Smith
21. Richard O Neill
21. Sami Dowling
22. Ian Flynn
23. Barry Carolan


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

A new rugby initiative is seeking expressions of interest from people of all walks of life who may be interested in setting up an LGBTQ+...