DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Junior Weekend Roundup 27.09.09

28th September 2009 By Munster Rugby

Junior Weekend Roundup 27.09.09

There were no shocks in the three major Junior Cup competitions that took place over the weekend.

Holder’s Cashel are through to the quarter finals of the Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Cup after they defeated Tralee 15-10 at the Kerry venue. Three penalties from Darragh O’Brien had Cashel 9-7 ahead at half time. Chris Dermody scored a try for the home side and Kevin O’Shea converted. O’Brien and Gareth Walsh exchanged penalties early in the second half and a drop goal from Conor Quinlan made sure of victory for the Tipperary side.

Richmond proved too strong for Thurles running in five tries in their 33-7 home win against Thurles. The winners had two tries from Jody O’Sullivan and Brian Begley, Michael Gallagher and Finbar Hogan got one apiece. Begley kicked a conversion and penalty and Wayne Murphy also added a penalty.

There was no joy for the two promoted clubs to the First Division as both lost. Ballincollig lost at home to Skibbereen 39-20. Jimmy Fraser and Maurice O’Keeffe scored two tries each for the winners and Declan Coppinger, Andy McCarthy and Mark Kingston also crossed the line. Fraser converted two of the tries. Dave Power scored two tries for Ballincollig and Dara Lancaster and Fergal Twohig got one each.

Clonmel defeated St Senan’s 24-3. Paddy Long and Padraig Leahy scored tries for the winners and Morgan Lyons kicked a conversion and four penalties. Frank Duggan kicked a drop goal for the Clare side.

Bandon’s poor run continued when they lost 27-3 away to Kinsale in the First Round of the Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Shield. Kevin Brophy had given Bandon an early lead with a penalty but once Jason Murphy tied the scores there was only one side in the game. Edward Lemarie put the home side in front with a try before the break and Murphy converted for a 10-3 lead. Two tries by Tadgh Wright and a penalty and two conversions by Murphy completed the scoring.

Kanturk overcame Muskerry 24-15 to set up a quarter final tie in Kinsale next week. Ned English, Malcolm O’Leary, Luke McCabe and Gary Pigott were try scorers for the winners and Dara Meade kicked two conversions. Muskerry replied with tries from Darren O’Farrell and Timmy Keating and Eoin Keohane added a conversion and penalty.

Old Christians will face Newport in the last eight after their 29-19 win over St. Mary’s at Corbally. Saia Mafi and Gavin Murphy were try scorers for the Rathcooney side and Aidan Tobin kicked two conversions and five penalties. Darragh Fitzgerald replied with a try for the home side and Barry Gibbons kicked a conversion and four penalties.

Two late tries earned Newport a 22-10 away win over Newcastle West. A try by James Kelly which Tom Kelleher converted had Newcastle West 7-3 ahead at half time. Philip O’Brien kicked a penalty for the visitors. Tom Ryan scored a try for Newport and O’Brien converted to give his side the lead but Kelleher levelled with a penalty. Than came the Tipperary side’s late surge with tries from Tom Ryan and Shane Ryan and a conversion by O’Brien.

The Martin O’Sullivan Cup is down to the last four after yesterday’s quarter final ties.
Abbeyfeale defeated Corca Dhuibhne 11-10 at Ballydavid. Paul O’Sullivan scored all the points for the winners with a try and two penalties. Ciaran Collins scored a try for the West Kerry Gaeltacht side and Johnny Curran kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Abbeyfeale’s reward is a home tie against Mallow after the North Cork side defeated Castleisland 28-24. The winners raced into a 17-0 lead but had to withstand a late rally from the visitors. Player Coach Brian Morris scored two tries for the winners and he converted both and also added a drop goal and two penalties. Dave Walsh also scored a try for Mallow. Kevin Lyons, William Walsh and Jamie McCarthy scored tries for the Kerry side and Mark Connelly converted all three and also added a penalty.

The other semi final will be between Carrick-on-Suir and Waterford City. Carrick’ just edged out Killorglin 13-10. Jim Wallace scored all the winner’s points with a try, conversion and two penalties. Danny O’Sullivan scored a try for the visitors and Brian Gannon kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Waterford City defeated Charleville 20-16 at the North Cork venue. A try by John Doran and a conversion and penalty by Aaron Foskin had the visitors 10-6 in front at half time. Shane Corkery kicked two penalties for Charleville. A try by Alan Howard which Corkery converted gave the home side the lead bur Foskin levelled with his second penalty. Corkery put the home side back in front but a late try by Jason Power converted by Foskin sent the Suirsiders through to the last four.

Cork Constitution won the Dennehy Cup for the eighteenth time with a 21-17 victory over Highfield at Woodleigh Park. Brian O’Hea opened the scoring with a penalty for the home side after five minutes but Simon Barry had Constitution level four minutes later. Rory O’Sullivan put the Temple Hill side ahead with a try. But two penalties by O’Hea had Highfield in front by the narrowest of margins at half time. Barry and O’Hea exchanged early penalties after the break. Billy Newman restored Con’s lead with their second try which Barry converted. Barry extended the lead with a penalty but Highfield were on top for the final ten minutes but all they could muster was a try from Stephen Daly.

Clonakilty and Crosshaven will contest the O’Sullivan (Muskerry) Cup final after their semi final victories. At The Vale, Clonakilty defeated neighbours Dunmanway 11-7 with Dave McCarthy kicking a try and John O’Driscoll adding two penalties.

Crosshaven had a narrow 12-11 win over Ballincollig at Tanner Park. Guillanme Lereun and Chris Lordan scored tries for the winners and Ken O’Halloran added one conversion.

AIB Cup First Round:
Barnhall 22,Suttonians 3;
Bective Rangers 21,Old Wesley 20;
Belfast Harlequins 32,Naas 10;
Clonakilty 16,Bruff 26;
Corinthians 33,Wanderers 20 (aet);
County Carlow 3,Queen’s University 43;
D.L.S.P. 11,Greystones 17;
Dublin University 29,Banbridge 14;
Highfield 15,Thomond 17;
Lansdowne 28,Ards 19;
Midleton 16,U.C.D. 19;
Navan 20,Instonians 10;
Nenagh Ormond 24,Portadown 5;
Rainey Old Boys 17,Old Crescent 27;
Sunday’s Well 10,Malone 16;
Terenure College 59,Connemara 7;

Limerick Charity Cup Final:U.L. Bohemian 10,Young Munster 11;

Senior Friendly:Garryowen 43,Buccaneers 7;
Shannon 33,Galwegians 28;

Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Cup:Ballincollig 20,Skibbereen 39;
Clonmel 24,St. Senan’s 3;
Richmond 33,Thurles 7;
Tralee 10,Cashel 15;

Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Shield First Round:Kanturk 24,Muskerry 15;
Kinsale 27,Bandon 3;
Newcastle West 10,Newport 22;
St. Mary’s 19,Old Christians 29;

Martin O’Sullivan Cup Quarter Finals:Carrick-on-Suir 13,Killorglin 10;
Charleville 16,Waterford City 26;
Corca Dhuibhne 10,Abbeyfeale 11;
Mallow 28,Castleisland 24;

Munster Seconds League North:Garryowen 9,Thomond 31;
Nenagh Ormond 3,Shannon 3;
U.L. Bohemian 30,Old Crescent 0;
Young Munster 36,Bruff 10;

Munster Seconds League South:Cork Constitution 14,Dolphin 30;
Highfield 10,Sunday’s Well 3;

Dennehy Cup Final:Highfield 17,Cork Constitution 21;

O’Sullivan Cup Semi Finals:Ballincollig 11,Crosshaven 12;
Clonakilty 12,Dunmanway 7;

Womens AIL Division 1:Ballincollig 10,Clonmel 34;
Cooke 3,Highfield 0;
U.L. Bohemian 18,Blackrock 10;

Division 2:Clanwilliam 0,Galbaly 5;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for Friday night's BKT URC Round 11 clash against Zebre at Virgin Media Park (7.35pm). Buy €20 match tickets...