DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

About The Academy

About The Academy

Munster Rugby Academy

The Munster Rugby Academy was formed in 2004 “to prepare young players for life in and beyond professional rugby”.

A programme that players can follow for up to three years, the first Academy group of players was selected and split into Level 2 and Level 1 members, now known as the Academy and sub-Academy.

The initial crop of 22 players included Keith Earls, Billy Holland, Duncan Williams, Donnacha Ryan and Tomás O’Leary, the inaugural winner of the Academy player of the Year award.

Academy players receive coaching and guidance from Munster Rugby staff and play with their clubs in the All Ireland League.

The current conventional pathway to the Academy sees players initially selected from clubs and schools to one of the four Munster Rugby Regional Development Squads (east, north, south and west).

From there they move up to the Munster age-grade squads (U18 Clubs, U18 Schools, U19s and U20s), sub-Academy and then Academy.

With Academy players playing All Ireland League rugby throughout the season, AIL games are monitored closely with the best club players also scouted.

The door is never closed on young players who leave the pathway or are late developers.

On average, three players progress from the Academy into the senior squad each year with the majority of the Munster squad having come through the Academy system.

2023/24 Munster Rugby Academy

Promoted to senior squad: Patrick Campbell (Back three/Young Munster), Cian Hurley (Lock/Back row/Garryowen)

Year 3: Tony Butler (out-half/Garryowen), Ethan Coughlan (Scrum-half/Shannon), Mark Donnelly (Prop/Garryowen), Edwin Edogbo (Lock/UCC), Daniel Okeke (Back row/Shannon).

Year 2: Fionn Gibbons (Centre/Young Munster), Darragh McSweeney (Prop/Shannon), Evan O’Connell (Lock/UL Bohemian), Jack Oliver (Scrum-half/Garryowen), Ruadhán Quinn (Back row/Old Crescent), Kieran Ryan (Prop/Shannon).

Year 1:  Brian Gleeson (No.8), George Hadden (Prop), Dylan Hicks (Out-half), Shay McCarthy (Wing), Ben O’Connor (Full-back).

Academy & Pathway Manager

Gearóid Prendergast

Academy Graduates

Current first team members that have come through the Academy (capped by Ireland in bold):

  • Tom Ahern
  • Stephen Archer
  • Diarmuid Barron
  • Scott Buckley
  • Patrick Campbell
  • Craig Casey
  • Gavin Coombes
  • Liam Coombes
  • Jack Crowley
  • Keith Earls
  • Jack Daly
  • Shane Daly
  • John Hodnett
  • Cian Hurley
  • Alex Kendellen
  • Dave Kilcoyne
  • Keynan Knox
  • Conor Murray
  • Calvin Nash
  • Jack O’Donoghue
  • Peter O’Mahony
  • Jack O’Sullivan
  • Paddy Patterson
  • Niall Scannell
  • Rory Scannell
  • Josh Wycherley
  • Fineen Wycherley

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU