DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Irish Women’s Squad Named

9th November 2007 By Munster Rugby

Irish Women’s Squad Named

Irish coach John O’Sullivan has added a host of new faces to the national training squad which was selected this week. O’Sullivan has selected a 35-player squad for training weekends in November and will narrow this down to 26 at the end of the month to form the core Six Nations Squad.

The Six Nations squad will warmup for next year’s competitions with a training week in Spain at the end of December.

The initial 35-player squad however sees a number of new players get a chance to stake their claim.

Up front there are fresh faces like Leinster’s Emer McManamly and Louise Austin while in the back division newcomers like young Munster centre Niamh Briggs will be hoping to make an impact.

Also back in the squad are Patrique Kelly and Joy Neville who will be training with Ireland for the first time since the World Cup having returned from a year of travelling.

Not in the squad is Irish captain Sarahjane Belton, but the skipper is hoping to be recovered from a back injury in time for sessions in the new year.

Missing out also are backrows Debbie Clarke and Rachel Boyd due to work commitments.

That duo were regulars in last year’s match squads so backrow will be an area of tight competition this year.

Coach John O’Sullivan said the presence of new players was a reflection on a high quality Interprovincial campaign.

"There are a lot of players who I saw during the campaign who may not have been with Ireland before who have a real chance of making it. The training weekends in November are a chance to us to look at our patterns and allow us to see how players fit into those and the systems we’ll be using."

He added that the sessions will include a lot of training games and match situations will allow coaching staff to see how players are gelling together.

Irish Women’s Training Squad.


Fiona Coghlan, Marie Barrett, Laura Guest, Gillian Bourke, Emer McManamly , Jess Limbert, Yvonne Nolan, Janet Reid, Deirdre Scannell, Germaine Healy, Kate O’Loughlin, Caroline Mahon, Louise Austin , Orla Brennan, Joy Neville, Eimear O’Sullivan, Sinead Ryan, Aoife Mahony, Paula O’Connor


Louise Beamish, Liz Comerford, Tania Rosser , Jo O’Sullivan, Lynne Cantwell, Julie Craig, Niamh Briggs, Nicole Fitzgerald, Patrique Kelly, Mairead Kelly, Shannon Houston, Grace Davitt, Amy Davis, Jackie Shiels, Amanda Greensmith, Helen Brosnan


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Musgrave Park will host the Ireland Women’s team again next year with the 2023 6 Nations home games against France and England taking place in...