DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland U18 Women’s XV Squad Announced For Training Weekend

18th February 2020 By The Editor

Ireland U18 Women’s XV Squad Announced For Training Weekend

Munster's Courtney Duhig. INPHO/Oisin Keniry

The Ireland Under-18 Women’s XV squad to travel to Scotland for a training weekend has been selected.

Four of last season’s Munster U18 Girls Interprovincial Championship winning side have been included – Courtney Duhig, Marliese Flynn, Eileen Gleeson and Chisom Ugwueru.

24 players will travel to Inverness in Scotland for a unique training weekend with the Scottish Under-18 side. This weekend will be a mix of education workshops and training which will culminate with a training game against Scotland U-18 on Sunday.

The players have been selected form a larger group of 36, who have had back to back training weekend at the IRFU High performance centre for the past two weekends.

Mya Alcorn, Caoimhe O’Callaghan and Ugwueru have been previously been capped at Under-18 Sevens level last year.

Speaking to Irish Rugby TV, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby said, “The squad has been selected from clubs from all over the country and have previously represented their provinces. It will be an education weekend and will expose them to different style of coaching and finish with a training game against Scotland.”

Video interview with Anthony Eddy can be viewed here – https://jwp.io/s/crkQS0hg

Ireland Under 18 Women’s XV Squad for Training weekend in Inverness, Scotland (14th – 16th February, 2020)
Mya Alcorn (Letterkenny/ Ulster)*
Kaitlin Bourke (Ballina/ Connacht)
Ciara Brennan (Wicklow/Leinster)
Hannah Coen (Creggs/Connacht)
Courtney Duhig (St Mary’s/ Munster)
Marlise Flynn (Carrick On Suir/ Munster)
Eileen Gleeson (Nenagh Ormonde/Munster)
Nina Hjalmer (Dundalk/ Leinster)
Ava Jenkins (Wicklow/ Leinster)
Hannah Johnston (Sligo/ Connacht)
Erin King (Naas/ Leinster)
Vicky Elms Kinlan (Wicklow/ Leinster)
Ivana Kiripati (Buccaneers/ Connacht)
Toni Macartney (Larne/ Ulster)
Nina McVann (Ballina/ Connacht)
Caoimhe O’Callaghan (Dundalk/ Leinster)*
Faith Oviawe (Buccaneers/ Connacht)
Taryn Schutzler (Donaghadee/ Ulster)
Sarah Shrestha (Dungannon/ Ulster)
Chisom Ugwueru (Ennis/ Munster)*
Aoife Wafer (Enniscorthy/ Leinster)
Megan Walsh (Connemara/ Connacht)
Katie Whelan (Enniscorthy/ Leinster)
Dara Yore (North Meath/ Leinster)
*Denotes capped at U18 Sevens Level

Ireland Under-18 XV Staff
Brian McLearn – Head Coach
Niall Neville – Assistant Coach
Alice O’Callaghan – Team Manager
Niamh Connolly – Physio
Beth Smith – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Eimear Flannery – Programme Manager

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU